十多年來,我們幫助公司實現財務和品牌目標。 Onum是一家以價值為導向的SEO機構。

聯繫方式
網站翻譯服務

本地化如何成為創建和建立全球受眾的關鍵

"Pepsi 讓你的祖先重新生活"的中文翻譯是很久以前誤譯的產物。該品牌的口號是真正說"與百事可樂一代一起生存"。

另一個類似的例子是可口可樂。在啟動時,人們發現,他們所謂的有趣的座右銘被誤譯為「女馬塞蠟」或」咬蠟」,因為可能與任何方言在中文。經過仔細審查,有必要重新命名和口號,以適應品牌的目的和聲譽。因此,他們選擇了"口中幸福"或"美味樂趣"的"凱庫克爾"。

上面的示例表明,過去不僅在商標名稱或座右銘中出現誤譯,而且通常在將一種語言翻譯成另一種語言時也誤譯。這就是為什麼內容本地化至關重要。內容本地化意味著嘗試使您的內容適應或調整到特定的位置,以便與該位置的受眾相關聯並與之標識。這不僅僅只是將單詞從源語言翻譯成目標語言。它涉及確保以符合當地文化敏感性的方式列出您的內容。這是有道理的,因為一種文化與另一種文化在需求和利益上存在差異。

在全球定位的每個位置都使用相同的方法是不明智的,因為這不會以應有的方式展現您的品牌。例如,一個地理位置的當前趨勢可能與另一地理位置的趨勢相去甚遠。實際上,這就是語言差異生效的地方。

那裡 是今天語言的品種。許多消費者誰是這些使用者 語言更喜歡用他們心中的語言與品牌聯繫。好像 這還不夠,一項研究表明,大約40%的消費者可能會 不是, 但產品, 因為它不是在他們的母語, 而其他 60% 仍然會購買的產品,但是,他們更喜歡有他們的語言翻譯的產品。

在本地化過程中,從一種語言到另一種語言的翻譯是第一步。這是因為本地化不只是翻譯,它還涉及創造獨特的內容和體驗,這些目標和體驗可以與目標市場中的本地消費者迅速建立聯繫。當您這樣做時,您不僅會創造,而且還將在全球範圍內建立可持續的本地消費者。

現在,讓我們深入研究什麼是本地化。

什麼是內容本地化?

內容本地化是翻譯,轉換和檢修您為目標市場創建或生產的內容的過程,以確保在嘗試進入的新市場中它在總體上和文化上是合理的,可理解的和可接受的。這涉及調整或調整內容翻譯,以適當的方式,語調,樣式和/或其整體概念傳達和傳達您品牌的預期信息。

本地化對全球增長至關重要的原因

消費者與品牌的聯繫越多,他們願意花的錢就越多

人 得到感到放鬆與對方, 當他們終於得到連接到一個 另一個。同樣是與客戶和您的產品,客戶願意 花更多的錢, 當感覺連接到品牌。一項研究表明,57% 準備增加他們的支出,一旦他們覺得連接到一個品牌和約 76% 的人會光顧這樣的品牌而不是他們的競爭對手。

什麼? 那應該做嗎?問題是,你需要觸發連接 消費者第一。您可以通過創建和構建可以 激發本地客戶的興趣,滿足他們的目標需求 市場。您的內容應表明您對此非常感興趣 以及他們想要什麼這會使您的客戶有家的感覺,放鬆, 感覺他們被很好地理解,受到尊重和照顧。

例如,如果您嘗試為亞太地區的讀者發布南美集中式電子書,那麼您肯定走上了軌道。這是因為通常,亞太地區的觀眾不會傾向於閱讀那些沒有重點關注或談論其所在地區的材料。如果您要為非洲讀者發行亞太電子書,反之亦然。這些聽眾自然不會想要閱讀已出版的材料,因為它們與他們無關,並且這些材料與他們的生活和文化無關。

的 上面的範例顯示,要創建唯一的內容 你的目標特定市場,因為一 個 男人的寶藏是另一個人的打擊

為了創建獨特的內容,請遵循以下建議:

1.考慮您選擇的單詞

使您的措辭適應目標市場。使用客戶可以快速聯繫到的詞語。有時候,兩個不同的國家/地區會說相同的語言,但是使用該語言的方式會有所不同。一個典型的例子是英語的英式和美式。英國人使用“足球”一詞,而美國人使用“足球”一詞。如果英國客戶訪問您的網頁並發現“足球”一詞的使用頻繁,他可能會迅速得出結論,您沒有與他交談。

儘管兩個地點使用相同的語言(即英語),但面向美國觀眾的Microsoft主頁與英國的主頁略有不同。這樣做是為了使內容吸引每個位置的個人。

2.插入本地音樂文化參考:

音樂文化在世界各地從一個地方變化到另一個地方。在感興趣的國家/地區談論名人,有趣和流行的模因八卦在一個地方可能是個好主意,但在其他地方卻是個壞主意。這就是為什麼在開始生成本地化內容之前,需要研究每個目標位置中普遍存在的趨勢。無論您以哪種方式進行操作,請確保都提及正確的文化參考。

3. 分享相關故事:

您的聽眾可以涉及的相關故事應該分享。

例如,如果您正在為非洲觀眾寫作,那麼最好在故事中使用非洲名字和人物。還要確保您的故事具有非洲文化及其生活方式的元素。

讓我們來看看流行的服裝品牌LOUIS VUITTON 舉個例子。在尋求擴展到德國和荷蘭市場的過程中,他們決定將網站翻譯和本地化為德語,而不考慮該地區構成受眾群體的大多數人都懂英語。這樣做無疑增加了它們在這些位置的轉化率。

4.與忠實客戶保持深厚的關係:

保留忠實的客戶是一個很好的主意,因為忠實的客戶是最好的客戶。他們不只是光顧您一次,因為他們時刻準備著一次又一次地做到這一點。他們還下意識地將您的產品宣傳給其他人。獲得越來越多的忠實客戶很重要,因為有了他們,您將獲得更多的光顧,您的品牌將成為世界各地聚會上討論的源泉。

5.出現在本地搜索結果中:

網站訪問者的語言在一個地方到另一個地方各不相同。因此,您可能還認為,每個地方的搜索都有可能不同。他們在搜索您的產品和服務時所用的詞因地而異。

借助本地化的內容,您將能夠使用不同市場所獨有的正確關鍵字,這些關鍵字將使您的網站在需要時可以輕鬆地主導搜索結果。

如果我們要回想一下前面提到的“足球”和“足球”的例子。如果您在美國受眾群體中的內容未正確本地化,您將意識到,美國訪問者在Google搜索“足球”時將永遠不會訪問您的網站,因為他們不熟悉該術語的使用。

6.提供個性化的購物體驗:

許多客戶仍然只質疑付款,因為他們懷疑商品和服務的付款方式。現在,假設使用支付網關,您的目標市場中的受眾並不熟悉它。這將是非常災難性的。

根據目標市場使用各種付款方式。例如,Boleto Bancario將是巴西在線購物者的正確選擇,因為他們可以與之建立聯繫,並且如果您未提供其他品牌,他們很容易尋找其他可以為其提供選擇的品牌。

這就是為什麼許多購物者沒有購物就放棄購物車的原因之一。當涉及本地化時,請將從首頁到檢查頁面的所有內容都本地化。這是保持客戶參與度並為客戶提供令人興奮的在線購物體驗的重要方法。

在本文中,我們討論了本地化不只是翻譯,它還涉及創造獨特的內容和體驗,這些目標和體驗可以與目標市場中的本地消費者迅速建立聯繫。當您這樣做時,您不僅會創造,而且還將在全球範圍內建立可持續的本地消費者。您將變得富有成效。您將獲得全球觀眾的光顧。最終有忠誠的客戶邀請他們的朋友到您的頁面。

你 可以嘗試開始網站本地化項目免費 ConveyThis 立即生效。

作者

卡維塔(Kavita Ramgahan)

評論(2)

  1. 電子商務趨勢,你應該知道在2021年ConveyThis
    2021年1月24日 回复

    [...]我們說當地語系化, 我們的意思是適應或對齊您的內容的翻譯, 以便它溝通和 [...]

  2. 適合您企業的頂級語言 – 為企業擁有者和企業家提供ConveyThis
    2021年1月26日 回复

    [...]正確的工作工具,您可以擴大您的國際受眾的限制。那是什麼工具?ConveyThis是您的翻譯和當地語系化的完美答案 [...]

發表評論 取消

您的電子郵件地址不會被公開。必填字段已標記*

Over 10 years we helping companies reach their financial and branding goals. Onum is a values-driven SEO agency dedicated.

CONTACTS
Website Translation Service

How Localization Is a Key to Creating and Building a Global Audience

The Chinese translation for “Pepsi brings your ancestors back to life” was a product of mistranslation sometime ago. The brand’s slogan was to actually say “Come Alive with the Pepsi Generation.”

Another similar example is that of Coca-Cola. At the point of launching, it was discovered that their supposed interesting motto has been mistranslated to “female horse stuffed with wax” or “bite the wax tadpole” as the case may be with any of the dialects in Chinese. After careful examination, there was need for rebranding the name and slogan to suit the purpose and reputation of the brand. Therefore, they opted for “kekoukele” that is “happiness in the mouth” or “tasty fun”.

The examples above show that there used to be mistranslation not only in brand names or motto but generally when translating from one language to another. That is why content localization is vital. Content localization means trying to adapt or tailor your content to a specific location so as to relate and identify with the audience in the location. This goes beyond just rendering words from a source language in into the targeted language. It involves ensuring that your contents are tabled in such a way that it considers local cultural sensitivities. This makes sense because there are differences in the needs and interests in one culture from another culture.

It will not be wise to use the same approach for each and every locations you are targeting around the world because this will not present your brand to all the way it should. For example, the current trends in one geographical location may be far away from what is trending in another geographical location. In fact, that is where discrepancy in languages takes effect.

There are varieties of languages today. Many of the consumers who are users of these languages prefer to relate with brands in the language of their heart. As if that is not enough, a research suggests that roughly 40% of consumers will probably not but products because it’s not in their native language while the other 60% will still buy the products, however,  they prefer having the products translated in their language.

In the localization process, translation from one language to another is the number one step. This is because localization is more than translation and it involves creating unique contents and experience that local consumers in your target market can quickly relate to. When you do this, you will not only create but you will be building sustainable local consumers all around the globe.

Now, let us delve more into what localization is.

What is content localization?

Content localization is the process of translating, transforming and overhauling the content you have created or produced for a target market to make sure that it is generally and culturally reasonable, understandable and acceptable in the new market you are trying to step into. This involves adapting or aligning the content translation to communicate and convey the intended message of your brand in the appropriate manner, tone, style and/or its overall concept.

Reasons localization is key to global growth

The more consumers feel connected to your brand the more they are willing to spend

People gets to feel relaxed with each other when they finally get connected with one another. Same it is with customers and your products, customers are willing to spend more when the feel connected to brands. A study observed shows that 57% are ready to increase their spending  once they feel connected to a brand and about 76% will patronize such brand over their competitors.

What then should be done? The thing is that you need to trigger connection with consumers first. You can do this by creating and building contents that can spark local customers’ interest and cater for their need in the targeted market. Your contents should indicate that you are deeply interested in them and what they want. This will make your customers to feel at home, get relaxed, feel they are well understood, well respected and well taken care of.

For example, if you try to publish a South American concentrated ebook for an audience in the Asian-Pacific region you are definitely off the track. This is because, ordinarily, the audience in Asia-Pacific region will not be inclined to read such a material that is not focused or talking about their region. Same will happen if you are publishing an Asian-Pacific ebook for an African audience or vice versa. These audiences will not naturally want to read the published material as it has nothing to do with them and such material will be irrelevant to their lives and cultures.

The example above shows that you are to create contents that are unique for the specific market you are targeting because one man’s treasure is another man’s thrash.

In order to create unique content, follow the suggestions below:

1. Consider your choice of word:

Adapt your wordings to the target market. Use words that customers can quickly relate to. There are some times that two different countries speak the same language but there are variations in the way they use the language. A typical example of this is the British and American form of English language. The British uses the word ‘football’ while American uses ‘soccer’. If a British customer visits your page and notices the frequent use of the term ‘soccer’, he may quickly conclude you are not talking to him.

The Microsoft homepage for the US audience is slightly different from that of the Great Britain even though both location speak the same language i.e. English language. This is done to feature content that will be appealing to individuals from each of the locations.

2. Insert local music culture references:

The music culture varies from one place to the other around the world. Gossips about celebrities, funny and trending memes in the country of interest can be a good idea in one place but a bad idea somewhere else. This is why you need to research trends that are pervasive in each targeted location before you begin generating contents that are localized. In whatever way you are doing this, make sure there is a mention of right cultural references.

3. Share pertinent stories:

Relevant stories that your audience can relate to should be shared.

For instance, if you are writing for an African audience, it will be best to use African names and characters in your stories. Also ensure that your story has elements of African culture and their lifestyle.

Let us take the popular clothing brand LOUIS VUITTON as an example. In their quest for expansion into the German and Dutch markets, they decided to translate and localize their website into German regardless of the fact that most of the people that form parts of the audience in the location understand English language. Doing this has without doubt increased their conversion rate in those locations.

4. Maintain deep relationship with your loyal customers:

It is a very good idea to keep loyal customers because loyal customers are the best kinds of customers. They don’t just patronize you once as they are always ready to do that again and again. They also subconsciously advertise your products to others. It is important to gain more and more loyal customers because with them you more patronage and your brand will become source of discussion at parties anywhere in the world.

5. Appear in local search results:

The words of your site visitors varies from one place to another. So you might also be thinking that there is every possibility that search will be different from one place to another. The words they will be using to search for your products and services will differ from places to places.

With the help of localized contents, you will be able to use the right keywords that are unique to different markets these will make it easy for your site to dominate search results when there is a call for it.

If we are to call back the example of “football” and “soccer” earlier mentioned. If your content in the American audience is not properly localized, you will come to realize that American visitors will never come across your website when they search Google for “soccer” because they are not conversant with the use of that term.

6. Make provision for a personalized shopping experience:

Many customers still question only payments as they doubt that means of paying for goods and services. Now imagine using payment gateway that audience in your target market are not familiar with it. It will be very disastrous.

Use a variety of payment methods depending on the targeted market. For example, Boleto Bancario will be the right choice for online shoppers in Brazil because they can relate to it and it is easy for them to look for other brands that will give them such option if you have not provided one.

This is one of the reasons why many shoppers abandon their carts with no purchase. When it comes to localization, localize everything from first page to the check page. It is a vital way of keeping your customers engaged and providing an exciting online shopping experience for your customers.

In this article, we have discussed that localization is more than translation and it involves creating unique contents and experience that local consumers in your target market can quickly relate to. When you do this, you will not only create but you will be building sustainable local consumers all around the globe. You will become productive. You will have global audience patronizing you. And eventually have loyal customers that invite their friends to your page.

You can try to start website localization project for free on ConveyThis with immediate effect.

Author

Kavita Ramgahan

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *