十多年來,我們幫助公司實現財務和品牌目標。 Onum是一家以價值為導向的SEO機構。

聯繫方式

沒有時間的日子,我們在一些博客文章中提到了這一點,即可能需要網站本地化。事實是,本地化是可以幫助您使用多種語言的關鍵要素。當您的內容反映出對文化的熟悉程度時,您將能夠與全球的多個人建立聯繫。

記住本地化網站的明顯方面很容易。這些明顯的部分是格式,樣式,圖像,文本等。但是,如果您忽略了一些看似“較小”的細節,則可能沒有抓住文化上的細微差別。

這些小細節可能有些微妙和棘手,因此您可能很難開始對其進行本地化。因此,本文將重點關注許多領域的五(5)個領域,包括您不知道它們應該本地化的領域。當您仔細閱讀本文並相應地調整其所有細節時,您將見證全球範圍內的巨大增長。

現在,讓我們開始吧。

第一區域:標點符號

很容易忽略局部標點符號。有些人甚至認為沒有必要考慮對標點符號進行本地化。但是,為了幫助您了解原因,讓我們以這種方式進行舉例說明:“您好!”用英語講“¡Hola!”用西班牙語。專心地看著這兩個詞表明,對這些詞的翻譯不只是字母。這兩個詞的明顯區別是如何使用感嘆號(!)。在您看到此示例之前,很容易想到所有語言都使用相同的感嘆號。

在您處理的任何文章中,標點符號的重要性都不能過分強調,因為它們有助於以清晰易懂的方式傳達消息。標點符號的使用可以追溯到很長的時間,當時標點符號用於指示說話者在古希臘和羅馬講話時會停下來或停下來。但是隨著時間的流逝,您可能會目睹當今不同文化和不同語言之間的重大變化。為了進一步說明這一點,您是否知道在今天的希臘語中分號代替問號及其書寫方式,因此分號是一個凸起的點?您是否知道日語中句點的實點(。)替換為空心點(◦)?您是否還知道所有英語標點符號都以阿拉伯語,希伯來語和烏爾都語的形式倒置,因為這些語言通常是從右到左書寫的?

雖然標點符號的使用確實在一個地方到另一個地方有所不同,但它們是有意義的交流的重要組成部分。它們有助於使句子更有意義。因此,請注意使用目標語言使用標點符號。當您遵循規則時,您的消息將被正確有效地傳達。

第二區:成語

在翻譯成語和慣用語時,逐字逐句地進行翻譯非常不好。慣用語表達在文化上如此傾向,以至於在相同地理位置的不同城市中可能意味著不同的事物。結果,很難翻譯它們。

例如,在非洲的某些地區,“吃雞腳”一詞意味著不安。該地區的食品店可能必須小心其廣告,其網站可能必須對這種慣用語敏感。

正確使用成語時,就是在告訴聽眾您熟悉他們的語言。擁有足夠的文化知識來有效地使用成語是非常有效的。但是,如果處理不當,它可能會變得凌亂,並且無法很好地向觀眾展示。

許多人聽到的一個受歡迎的例子是百事可樂的中文口譯錯誤。 “百事可樂使您重獲新生”並不意味著“百事可樂使您的祖先從墳墓中重獲新生”,因為它出現在中國市場上。因此,最好在正確翻譯成語之前,先仔細翻譯成語。

有時,很難找到準確的語言或更接近目標語言中的習語的東西。如果發生這種情況,最好將其完全丟棄或刪除,而不是強制執行不適合的操作。

第三區:顏色

顏色不僅僅是漂亮的外觀。在世界的不同地方,人們的看法可能有所不同。

我們將在顏色下考慮的第一個例子是納米比亞人民。當像綠色這樣的顏色看起來相同時,辛巴族人仍然很有可能發現相同顏色的變化。為什麼?這是因為它們已經有多個具有不同陰影的綠色名稱。

第二個例子是印第安人使用紅色。對他們來說,這是愛,美麗,純潔,誘惑和生育的標誌。有時,他們用它來代表婚姻等生活事件。對於印度人來說,泰國人將紅色和星期日聯繫在一起。這是因為它們在一周的每一天都有特定的顏色。

顏色的解碼方式因語言和文化而異。當您意識到它們如何看待顏色時,它將幫助您達到正確使用顏色的目的。

現在想一想,當您仔細選擇內容的顏色時,您的信息會給人留下深刻的印象。您可能會認為這是一件非常容易和簡單的事情,並沒有真正考慮在內,但是當您認真考慮並採取行動後,它將使您在競爭對手中脫穎而出。確保您已習慣每種顏色在目標位置和目標受眾中的含義。充分利用這一點,您會驚訝於它如何增強您傳達的信息。

第四區:鏈接

您可以通過鏈接來擁有增強的內容並成功將網站的訪問者重定向到他們可能想探索的更多資源的一種方式。

例如,您正在閱讀西班牙文頁面上的某些信息,並且由於您的頁面上已經提供了鏈接,因此您希望檢查其他資源。但令您驚訝的是,它帶您進入了日語頁面。您感覺如何?當您不個性化和本地化網站上的鏈接時,就是這種感覺。

如果您的網站不反映個性化,用戶體驗將不會令人鼓舞。當頁面語言和鏈接頁面的語言缺乏一致性時,用戶體驗可能不太好,這看起來像是在浪費精力。因此,請確保網頁上的鏈接與翻譯後的網站使用相同的語言。

這樣做時,您提供與受眾相關的本地內容。以翻譯您的外部連結,您可以輕鬆地在ConveyThis,您的全球受眾將有一個美妙的使用者體驗瀏覽您的網站。

第五區:表情符號

與以前不經常使用表情符號的情況不同,如今我們幾乎到處都有表情符號。它已成為互聯網用戶詞典的一部分,因此許多人甚至在專業交流中也無法不使用它。當沒有機會面對面交流時,很容易表達情感。

但是,使用表情符號不是普遍的做法。實際上,不同的用戶對其用法有不同的態度。

例如,一項研究表明,英國更喜歡舊風格的表情符號,而加拿大人使用貨幣相關的表情符號實際上是其他國家的兩倍,這很普遍。與食物相關的表情符號呢?這在美國很普遍。法國人以浪漫相關的表情符號而聞名。當俄羅斯人更喜歡雪花的時候,阿拉伯人使用太陽表情符號的人數比任何人都多。

在翻譯和本地化內容時,應謹慎選擇表情符號。例如,來自中東和希臘的人們可能將豎起大拇指的表情符號視為冒犯,而微笑的表情符號並不意味著在中國領土上擁有幸福。

因此,在選擇任何表情符號之前,請進行大量研究,並意識到要嘗試傳遞給目標受眾的信息。要了解每個表情符號代表什麼,請訪問表情符號以了解它們

考慮到其他領域可能沒有時間,我們討論的這些領域對於您的網站本地化可能並不重要。本文討論了許多(五)領域,其中包括您不知道它們應該本地化的領域。如果您仔細閱讀本文並相應地調整其所有細節,您將見證全球範圍內的巨大增長。 ConveyThis。 可有效處理需要在您的網站上本地化的所有方面。

作者

卡維塔(Kavita Ramgahan)

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址不會被公開。必填字段已標記*

Over 10 years we helping companies reach their financial and branding goals. Onum is a values-driven SEO agency dedicated.

CONTACTS
Website Translation Service

Five (5) Areas You Didn’t Know You Should Localize

Time without numbers, we have mentioned this in our some of our blog posts that there is a possible need for website localization. The truth is that a crucial and essential element that can help you go multilingual is localization. You will be able to connect with several persons globally when your content reflects cultural familiarity.

It is easy to remember to localize obvious aspects of your website. These obvious parts are formats, styles, images, texts etc. however, you may not have captured the cultural nuances if you overlook some seeming ‘smaller’ details.

These little details may be subtle and tricky such that you may find it difficult to start to localize them. This is the reason that this article will be focusing on five (5) areas that many, including you don’t know they should localize. When you carefully go through this article and adjust to all of its details accordingly, you will witness a massive growth on a global scale.

Now, let’s get started.

First Area: Punctuation Marks

It is easy to overlook localizing punctuation marks. Some may even think there is no need considering localizing punctuation marks. However, to help you see a reason, let’s exemplify it this way: “Hello!” in English language while “¡Hola!” is in Spanish. Looking intently at the two words shows there is more to the translation done to the words than just the alphabets. A clear difference from both words is how the exclamation mark (!) is used. It is easy to think that all languages uses the same exclamation mark until you see this example.

In whatever write-up you are handling, the important of punctuation marks cannot be overemphasized because they help to convey messages in a clear and more understandable way. The use of punctuation mark dates back to a very long time when they were used for indication for speaker to stop or pause while speaking in the ancient Greece and Rome. However with time, you may witness significant changes in different cultures and among different languages today. To illustrate it further, did you know that semi colon replaces question mark in today’s Greek and the way it is written, it is written such that the semicolon is a raised dot? Did you know that in Japanese, the solid dot (.) for periods is replaced by open dot (◦)? Did you also know that all punctuation marks in English are in their inverted form in Arabic, Hebrew and Urdu because of the fact that the languages are usually written from right to left?

While it is true that use of punctuation marks varies from one place to another, they are essential components of meaningful communications. They help to give more meaning to your sentences. Hence, be careful to note the use of punctuation in the language of your target. When you follow the rules you message will be correctly and effectively conveyed.

Second Area: Idioms

A word for word approach to translation is very bad when it comes to translating idioms and idiomatic expressions. Idiomatic expressions are so culturally inclined that it may mean different thing in different cities within the same geographical location. As a result of this, it is very difficult to translate them.

For example, the expression “to eat chicken’s feet” in certain area of Africa means to be restless. Food outlets in such area may have to be careful with their adverts and their website may have to be sensitive to such idiomatic expression.

When you use idioms correctly, you are telling your audience that you are conversant with their language. It is very effective to have ample knowledge of the culture so as to use idioms efficiently. However, if it is not properly handle, it may become messy and will not present you well before your audience.

One popular example that many have heard is about the mistranslation of Pepsi motto in the Chinese language. “Pepsi Brings you back to live” does not mean “Pepsi Brings Your Ancestors Back from the Grave” as it appeared in the Chinese market. Therefore, it is best to carefully translate idioms rightly before it translates to trouble outside there.

Sometimes, it will be very difficult to find exact or something closer to an idiom in the targeted language. If such happens, rather than forcing what is not suitable, it will be best to to discard or remove it altogether.

Third Area: Colors

Colors are more than just mere pretty look. It may be perceived differently in different parts of the world.

The first example we will consider under color is the people of Namibia. When a color like green looks the same, it is still very possible for the Himba people to spot variations in that same color. Why? This is because they already have several names for green colors with different shades.

The second example, is the use of the color red among the Indians. To them it is a sign of love, beauty, purity, seduction and fertility. And sometimes they use it to represent life events like marriage. While it is like that for the Indians, the Thais associate color red with Sunday. This is because they have specific color for each day of the week.

The way colors are decoded varies as they depend on language and culture. When you are conscious of how they view colors, it will help you to reach the proper use of color.

Now think of how impressive your message will be when you carefully select colors for your contents. You may think it is something quite easy and simple and does not really count, but when you carefully considers this and act on it, it will make you outstanding among your competitors. Ensure that you are accustomed with what each color means in the targeted location and for the targeted audience. Capitalize on this and you will be surprise at how it will enhance the message you are conveying.

Fourth Area: Links

A way you can have enhanced content and also successfully redirects visitors of your website to more resources they will likely want to explore is through links.

 For example, you are reading certain information on a Spanish page and you have the desire to check through other resources as the links are already provided on the page you are. But to your surprise, it takes you to a Japanese page. How will you feel? That is how it feel like when don’t personalize and localize the links on your website.

User experience will not be encouraging if your website does not reflect personalization. When there is lack of consistency in the language of your page and the language of the linked pages, users experience may not be nice and it will look like a wasted effort. Therefore, ensure that the links on your web pages are having the same language as the language of your translated website.

When you do this, you are providing local contents that will be relevant to your audience. You can do this easily by translating your external links with the help of ConveyThis and your global audience will have a wonderful user experience browsing your website.

Fifth Area: Emojis

Unlike before where emojis are not frequently used, nowadays we have emojis almost everywhere. It has become parts of internet users’ lexicon such that many cannot go a day without using it even in their professional communication. It is easy to express emotions when there is no opportunity for face to face communication.

However, using emoji is not a universal practice. In fact different users have different attitude towards its usage.

For example, a study suggests that the old style of emoji is more preferable by the UK whereas, it is common for Canadian to use money related emoji, in fact, in double folds than other nations. What about food related emoji? This is prevalent among the USA. The French are known for romance related emoji. The Arabs uses the sun emoji more than anyone when Russian prefers the snowflakes ones.

The choice of emoji is something you should be careful of when translating and localizing your contents. For example, the thumb up emoji might be seen as offensive by people from the Middle East and Greece while the smiling one does not mean happiness in the Chinese territory.

Therefore, do extensive research before you choose any emoji and be conscious of the message you are trying to pass across to your targeted audience. To know what each of the emojis stands for, visit emojipedia to learn about them.   

These areas we have discussed may not be important for your website localization considering that other may not have the time to do so. This article have discussed five (5) areas that many, including you don’t know they should localize. If you carefully go through this article and adjust to all of its details accordingly, you will witness a massive growth on a global scale. ConveyThis is effective in handling all aspect that needs to be localize on your websites.

Author

Kavita Ramgahan

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *