面試

電子商務的啟發:我們在INSTAGRAM上發布了一張圖片,上面寫著“顯示您的波特蘭價”,當天的銷售額為$ 5,000。從這一點開始,我們意識到我們已經做好了。

波特蘭齒輪

“聽起來很愚蠢,但很多時候我們將自己視為銷售服裝的活動/社區品牌。我們總是嘗試舉辦免費活動,讓人們感到賓至如歸,並在城市中盡可能多地參加活動。 ”

介紹

在ConveyThis,我們致力於幫助電子商務公司成長。我們以幾種不同的方式做到這一點。首先,我們幫助企業進入國際市場與我們的網站翻譯工具,流行的平臺,如WordPress,shopify BigCommerce(舉幾例)

其次,我們努力為電子商務商店的所有者提供有關經營一家成功的電子商務公司的廣泛主題的教育。有時,我們會在博客的電子商務增長空間中採訪領導者,了解他們擴大在線商店的經驗。

今天,ConveyThis有機會與埃利·阿布拉莫維茨聊天,這位是波特蘭齒輪公司的第二名主管,也是運營主管。伊萊和創始人馬庫斯·哈威最初是一個兩人的團隊。如今,他們已發展成為6人的核心時間,另外還有8名零售員工,現在他們通過波特蘭地區擁有3家門店。

但是,這一切都是通過一個新購買的instagram帳戶和一個小的電子商務商店開始的。讓我們進入並了解有關波特蘭裝備的旅程。

面試

感謝您今天加入我們。為了幫助我們開始面試,您能否告訴我們更多有關波特蘭齒輪的誕生方式的信息?

當然!這一切始於2014年初Marcus Harvey(所有者)從緬因州波特蘭的一位父親購買@portland instagram手柄時。他剛剛發布了自己女兒的照片,Marcus看到了該頁面的潛力。當時非常瘋狂,因為這是在影響者或公司真正開始使用該應用程序之前(奇怪的是,我知道)。在6個月內,他迅速將頁面擴大到6萬名追隨者,並看到了對這座城市的熱愛。儘管波特蘭確實擁有開拓者,木材和荊棘,但我們沒有像洛杉磯,紐約或舊金山那樣與城市同義的其他球隊或徽標。波特蘭需要一個代表城市的徽標。擁有服裝和設計背景,Marcus看到了巨大的機會。我們標誌性的“ P”徽標誕生於俄勒岡州,2014年黑色星期五,我們在@portland頁面上推出了經典的“ P” Tee和Rise Tee。我們發布了一張圖片,上面寫著“用@portlandgear展示您的波特蘭驕傲”,當天我們的銷售額達到了5,000美元。從那時起,我們意識到我們有不錯的東西。

通過您的品牌展示,您對運動和戶外運動有著真正的熱愛。這是您的形象脫穎而出嗎,還是這個品牌形象隨著時間而演變?

我們受到了舊式/老式運動美學的啟發。一方面是因為它是我們喜歡並想要穿的衣服,另一方面是因為這是我們能夠設計的一切。儘管Marcus是設計師,但我們的團隊中確實有設計師,但他們並不認為自己是藝術家,因此瘋狂的圖形處理絕不是旋轉的一部分。就戶外活動而言,我們住在俄勒岡州。這是每個俄勒岡人DNA的一部分。我們沒有選擇不將其作為靈感的一部分。運營商店的原因是社區。把手放下。

品牌如何隨著時間演變?從第一天開始,您是否曾經在方向方面進行過調整?

從一開始,這確實是一個明確的方向。讓人們表現出對波特蘭的驕傲並與城市建立聯繫。無論他們是來自這裡,曾經住在這裡,想住在這裡還是來訪。對於波特蘭來說,竊取人們的內心很容易,我們希望您能夠隨心所欲地走開。雖然我們知道這一點,但我們從未真正意識到將要創建的那種社區。聽起來很愚蠢,我們認為自己是一個銷售服裝的活動/社區品牌。我們總是嘗試舉辦免費活動,讓人們感到賓至如歸,並在城市中盡可能多地參加活動。通過與進場和聆聽他們故事的人們交談,同時為我們的城市分享同樣的自豪感,我們在這些活動和社區參與中與人們建立了令人敬畏的關係。服裝是所有這些的延伸,令人驚嘆。

我想談談您的成長過程。那什麼負責品牌的最初牽引和成功最重要的事情?

不可否認,@ portland頁面。一切的時機都是巨大的。 Instagram尚處於起步階段,而品牌和影響者則無法利用該應用程序。在所有算法和飽和度之前,能夠將品牌推廣給熱愛波特蘭市的數十萬人。老實說,我認為如果這是在其他任何時間,甚至在一兩年之內,我們都不會像以往那樣成功。

您是否曾經經歷過退後一步,看到自己的成功並以為“嘿,我們成功了”的經歷?

在大約一年半的時間裡,我們僅通過標誌性的公共汽車在線銷售了我們的商品。我們能夠購買1973年的大眾Westfalia麵包車,以向以同樣方式創立耐克公司的菲爾·奈特(我們的英雄)致敬。我們會去街頭集市,然後在鎮上到處開商店。人們總是會問我們的商店在哪裡,所以我們決定在某個點之後,我們需要開設一家實體商店。在2016年3月,我們終於在Providence Park(森林和荊棘遊戲所在地)旁邊的之一處打開了大門,沿著街區排隊等候我們打開。那是一個非常特別的時刻。

獲得最初的牽引力後,您遇到了哪些障礙?您是如何克服早期障礙的?

我們很幸運沒有遇到任何大障礙。當然,到處都是東西。我們一直試圖對自己和客戶坦誠相待,承擔任何錯誤,並在所有情況下都盡可能透明,這始終對我們有利。

您如何對待品牌的增長策略?您的策略是如何隨著時間演變的?這是一個非常正式的過程,還是隨著它們的來臨而一發不可收拾?

我們總是根據直覺來做事。顯然,我們坐下來認真討論想法並通過想法進行討論,但是很少有我們寫下來的物理策略。當他們感到正確或我們已經達到帶寬時,我們就會做事。我們在@portland頁面上發布了該品牌,並在很早就發現了成功。我們只有在網上銷售商品,直到人們開始詢問在哪裡可以親自找到我們以觸摸和感覺衣服為止。因此,只要有可能,我和馬庫斯就開始做彈出窗口或街頭集市。我們還沒有準備好的商店。然後人們問他們可以在哪裡找到我們,因此我們開設了實體店。我和馬庫斯(Marcus)每天都在這家商店工作6個月,直到我們再也做不了為止,我們聘請了我們的第一個專職設計師Mack。然後,我們在商店和辦公室之間分配時間。然後,當品牌絕對不可或缺時,我們只增加了第四名員工。我們所有人都戴著多頂帽子以確保事情能完成,沒有人能在商店的上方工作,清除垃圾……話雖如此,我真的不認為我們會改變一件事。這就是我們所有人學習如何努力工作和更多地了解品牌的方式。每天坐在商店裡,您可以很好地了解人們喜歡,不喜歡和聽到他們的建議的地方。我們剛滿5歲,現在意識到我們是一個品牌和一家比我們更大的公司,讓我們開始將其中的一些內容記錄在紙上,並提出發展和擴展的長期計劃。

您能否告訴我們更多有關您在線和離線使用的客戶服務策略的信息?您的做法與實體店和在線店有何不同?

我們很早就意識到,超越該類別將有助於建立我們的客戶群。當某人首次出現並體驗該品牌時,只要是真實可信的人,就可以與他們建立個人聯繫。向他們講述波特蘭裝備的故事,幫助他們完成購買過程,對對方產生真正的興趣。我們曾經說過,當客戶離開時,我們想知道他們來自哪裡,對什麼感興趣,以及在一天的剩餘時間裡要做什麼。立即創建終生客戶,然後讓他們通過口口相傳告訴朋友對我們來說非常有價值(而且具有成本效益)。同樣偉大的是,這從來都不是強制性的。這只是我們的DNA,我們確保對我們僱用的任何員工都採用相同的方式。然後,就在線而言,確保我們快速,正確地取出軟件包,如果有任何問題,我們會立即修復。簡而言之,只要確保客戶體驗是愉快和有趣的,並且總是超越一切即可。我認為您絕對不需要所有詳細的計劃,但是絕對有必要製定核心價值觀和大綱。願意隨著時間的流逝而調整,並看到最有效的方法是關鍵,這正是使小型企業如此有趣的關鍵。我們是非常樂觀和自信的人,因此我們將充分利用各種情況,使其比我們最初計劃的要好。

哪個在線營銷渠道最適合您?

Instagram的。再一次,這是我們一生的鮮血。也要彈出窗口。正如我前面提到的,我們嘗試並參加盡可能多的活動,這使我們有很大的機會一遍又一遍地講述我們的故事。雖然它不是最有效的,但它也是我們發現創造品牌客戶和粉絲的最真實的方式。

事實證明,哪些在線增長渠道對您的品牌最無效?

老實說,許多傳統的營銷工具沒有我們想要的那麼成功。我們嘗試過聘請外部幫助來進行社交媒體營銷,廣告定位,公關公司,但從未在這些方面獲得高投資回報率。我們發現,堅持在Instagram上推廣自己以及與客戶進行親密接觸是我們看到最大成功的地方。

正如您所提到的,Instagram對於您的品牌成功至關重要。您是如何建立IG關注者的?您是否在戰略性地創建內容時考慮到目標?如果是這樣,您的策略背後的想法是什麼?

如前所述,@ portland頁面實際上是所有這些不可或缺的部分。通過該頁面推廣@portlandgear,然後在@portlandgear頁面上交叉推廣@portland,使這兩個頁面真正互補。每天在@portland上發布兩次,每天在@portlandgear上發布一次,可以使關注者保持參與,而無需我們發布新消息。您可以期望這兩頁每天都有新內容。我們嘗試每1-2週投放商品,並為它們計劃小幅拍攝。然後,我們嘗試在一年中有4個季節性的大下降,在其中投入了大量的時間和精力。我們還意識到人們不希望只看到服裝,所以我們嘗試扔一些個人用品。我們是有趣又愚蠢的人,喜歡發布有關我們的信息。一是因為這就是我們要發布的內容,二是當追隨者可以面對某事時,它有助於與我們的追隨者建立聯繫,並使我們感到更加真實。讓人們進入商店感覺很酷,就像他們已經對我們有所了解一樣,這很酷–這有助於建立牢固的關係。

顯然,波特蘭齒輪公司不僅僅在出售業務。您與其他本地企業進行了大量的社區宣傳和有趣的附帶項目。一個例子就是您的名為“品牌營”的計劃,該計劃是暑期實習,供高中和大學生學習商業。您還與當地的啤酒廠合作創建了新啤酒-您正在要求追隨者投票並幫助命名。所有非常酷的東西。創建或參與此類活動是否是有意識的營銷決策?您如何看待它影響您的業務?

社區對我們來說比實際產品本身更重要。讓別人參與我們的旅程就意味著一切。布蘭德·坎普(Brand Camp)最初是由學生詢問是否可以與我們實習。我們沒有專職實習生的工作量,所以我們會讓孩子們來一天來掩蓋我們。儘管如此,處理大量請求是不可行的。我們以為“我們如何一次回饋多個孩子”?因此,我們在夏季預留了一個星期來教給他們我們所知道的一切!現在是今年的第四年,有兩個不同的訓練營,每個訓練營一周,俄勒岡大學是該計劃的主要贊助商。

就啤酒而言,如果我們可以製造出可以代表波特蘭的啤酒,那麼我們當然會得到人們的幫助!我們還開展志願活動,邀請社區加入我們,舉辦免費的社交活動,並舉辦了“護照挑戰賽”之類的活動。這個社區幫助我們成為了我們的品牌,因此,我們越能吸引每個人參與,越好。人們想感受到某種東西的一部分,我們很幸運,我們有一個平台可以讓人們做到這一點。

這些都是非常有趣的想法。但是,創建像Brand Camp這樣的計劃對其他小型e-Com企業主是否可行?如果是這樣,他們應該如何處理?

當然!我們做到了!它有一個市場,人們或多或少都在要求它,所以我們使它成為現實。創建它,並在上面加上自己的變形。我想說,作為一家小型企業,做這樣的事情幾乎容易。作為一個小團隊,說“嘿,我對此有一個主意”真是太不可思議了,然後我們作為一個小組討論這個主意,然後加以實施。沒有繁文tape節。聽起來有些俗氣,但說實話是真實,真實的,因此了解客戶和社區至關重要。因此,對於我們來說,這就是創建Brand Camp。對於您自己的業務,找出與您的社區產生共鳴的地方。

在整個旅程中,您是否遇到過許多挫折或認為自己可能沒有成功?

我們很幸運從未遇到過這個問題,也從未考慮過放棄。我們很幸運能每天上班,為我們所愛的社區製作服裝。波特蘭市是一個不斷發展且不斷發展的地方,並希望在未來的許多年中與之一起發展。

非常感謝您抽出寶貴的時間與之聊天 ConveyThis。 今天以利。我們真的很感激。我們很多 e-Com博客 讀者目前正在擴展其電子商務商店,因此像您上面提供的那樣的洞察力可以幫助他們從所處的位置到達想要的位置。對於我們的博客讀者,如果您想了解有關PortlandGear的更多信息,可以 在Instagram上關注他們 或查看他們的網站 這裡

作者

亞歷克斯·布蘭

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址不會被公開。必填字段已標記*

Over 10 years we helping companies reach their financial and branding goals. Onum is a values-driven SEO agency dedicated.

CONTACTS
Interviews

ECOMMERCE INSPIRATION: WE POSTED ONE PICTURE SAYING “SHOW YOUR PORTLAND PRIDE” ON INSTAGRAM AND WE DID $5000 IN SALES THAT DAY. FROM THAT POINT ON, WE REALIZED WE HAD SOMETHING GOOD.

Portland Gear

“As silly as it sounds, a lot of times we think of ourselves as an event/community brand that sells apparel. We always try and throw free events, make people feel welcome, and be at as many events around the city as possible. ”

Introduction

At ConveyThis, we’re obsessed with helping eCommerce companies grow. We do this in a couple of different ways. First, we help businesses reach international markets with our website translation tool for popular platforms like WordPress, Shopify and BigCommerce (to name only a few examples). 

Secondly, we work hard to educate eCommerce store owners on a wide range of topics relating to running a successful eCommerce company. From time to time, we interview leaders in the eCommerce growth space for our blog, about their experiences scaling their online stores.

Today, ConveyThis had the opportunity to chat with Eli Abramovitz, the second in charge at Portland Gear and the Head of Operations. Eli and founder Marcus Harvey started out as a team of two. Today, they’ve grown into a core time of 6, with an additional 8 retail employees and they now have 3 stores through the portland area. 

However, it all started online with a newly purchased instagram account and a little eCommerce shop. Let’s jump in and learn about the Portland Gear journey. 

The Interview

Thank you for joining us today. To help us kick the interview off, can you tell us a bit more about how Portland Gear was born? 

Of course! It all started when Marcus Harvey (owner) bought the @portland instagram handle from a dad in Portland, Maine in early 2014. He was just posting pictures of his daughter and Marcus saw potential for the page. At the time that was pretty crazy because this was before influencers or companies really started utilizing the app (weird to think about I know). In 6 months, he quickly grew the page to 60k followers and saw how great the love for the city was. While Portland does have the Blazers, Timbers, and Thorns, we don’t have other teams or logos that are as synonymous with the city as does LA, NY, or SF. Portland needed a logo that represented the city. Having a background in apparel and design, Marcus saw a huge opportunity. Our iconic “P” logo with the state of Oregon inside of it was born and on Black Friday of 2014, we launched our classic “P” Tee and Rise Tee on the @portland page. We posted one picture saying, “Show your Portland pride with @portlandgear” and we did $5,000 in sales that day. From that point on we realized we had something good.

It shows through your branding that you have a real love of sports and outdoors. Was this your image out of the gates, or did this brand image evolve over time? 

We were inspired by the old school/vintage athletic aesthetic. Partly because it was what we liked and wanted to wear, partly because it was all we were able to design. While Marcus is a designer, and we do have designers on the team, they don’t consider themselves artists, so crazy graphics were never a part of the rotation. As far as the outdoors goes, we live in Oregon. It’s a part of every Oregonian’s DNA. We didn’t have a choice to not have that be part of the inspiration. The reason for running the shop though is the community. Hands down. 

How has the brand evolved over time? Have you ever pivoted in terms of direction or were you clear on that direction from day one? 

It’s really been a clear direction from the start. For people to show their Portland pride and to wear their connection to the city. Whether they are from here, used to live here, want to live here or are visiting. It’s easy for Portland to steal people’s hearts and we want you to be able to walk away wearing a piece of that. While we knew this, we never really realized the sort of community that would be created. As silly as it sounds a lot of times we think of ourselves as an event/community brand that sells apparel. We always try and throw free events, make people feel welcome, and be at as many events around the city as possible. We’ve created some awesome relationships with people at these events and community engagements by talking to people who come in & hearing their stories all while sharing the same pride for our city. The apparel is an extension of all of that and it is amazing to see.

I’d like to talk about your growth process. What was the single most important thing that was responsible for the initial traction and success of your brand? 

Undeniably the @portland page. The timing of everything was huge. Instagram was in its early days before brands and influencers capitalized on the app. Being able to promote the brand to hundreds of thousands of people who loved the city of Portland before all the algorithms and saturation. I honestly think that if this came at any other time, even by a year or two, we wouldn’t be as successful as we have been.

Have you ever had the experience where you’ve stepped back and seen your success and thought “hey we made it”?

For about a year and a half, we solely sold our merchandise online and out of our iconic bus. We were able to purchase a 1973 VW Westfalia van as a tribute to Phil Knight (our hero) who started Nike the same way. We would go to street fairs and pop up shops all around town in that thing. People would always ask where our store was and we decided that after a certain point, we needed to open up a brick and mortar store. In March of 2016, we finally opened one of right next to Providence Park (where the Timbers and Thorns play) and we had a line down the block waiting for us to open. That was a pretty special moment.

What were some hurdles you experienced after gaining your initial traction? How did you overcome your early obstacles? 

We have been very fortunate to have not run into any large hurdles. Sure, there have been things here and there. We have always tried to be open and honest with ourselves and customers, owned up to any mistakes and be as transparent as possible in all situations and that has always worked out in our favor.

How have you approached your brand’s growth strategy? How has your strategy evolved over time? Has it been a very formal process or have you rolled with the punches as they’ve come in? 

We have always done things based on gut feelings. We obviously sit down and talk seriously about ideas and hash through them but very seldom do we have a physical strategy that is written down. We do things when they feel right or we have reached our bandwidth. We launched the brand on the @portland page and found success pretty early on. We only sold online until people started asking where they could find us in person to touch and feel the clothes. So, Marcus and I started doing pop ups or street fairs whenever we could. We weren’t ready for a store yet. Then people asked where they could find us on a consistent basis so we opened up our brick and mortar store. Marcus and I worked the store every single day for 6 months until we couldn’t do it anymore and we hired our first full time designer, Mack. We would then split time between the store and office. Then we only added a fourth employee when it was absolutely integral to grow the brand. We all wear multiple hats to ensure things get done and no one is above working the store, taking out the trash… With that being said, I really don’t think we would have changed a thing. It’s how we all learned how to work hard and understand the brand more. Sitting in the store every day, you are able to get a great perspective on what people like, dislike and hear their suggestions. We just turned 5 and are now realizing that we’re a brand and a company that is much larger than just us, let’s start putting some of these things down on paper and come up with long term plans to grow and scale. 

Can you tell us a little bit more about the customer service strategies you use both online and offline? How does your approach differ in-store vs. online? 

We realized pretty early on that going above and beyond in that category would help build our customer base. Just being genuine and authentic when someone first comes up and experiences the brand, making that personal connection with them is where it starts. Telling them about the Portland Gear story, helping them through the purchasing process, being genuinely interested in the person. We used to say when the customer walks away we want to know where they are from, what they are interested in, and what they are up to for the rest of the day. Creating lifelong customers right off the bat and then having them tell their friends through word of mouth is so valuable to us (AND cost effective). What’s great too is that this is never forced. It is just in our DNA and we make sure that it is the same way for any employees we hire. Then as far as online goes its making sure we get the package out fast and correctly and if there ever is any issue we fix it immediately. In short, just making sure the customer experience is enjoyable and fun and always going above and beyond. I don’t think by any means you need all detailed plans in place, but having core values and an outline is absolutely necessary.  Being willing to adjust as time goes along as seeing what works best is key and is what makes small business so fun. We’re pretty optimistic and confident people so we will make the most of any situation and make it the better than we had even planned initially.

Which online marketing channel has worked the best for you? 

Instagram. Once again, it has been our life blood. Also going to pop ups. As I mentioned earlier, we try and be at as many events as possible which gives us a great opportunity to tell our story over and over again. While it many not the most efficient, it is also the most genuine way we have found to create customers and fans of the brand.

Which online growth channels have proven to be the least effective for your brand?

Honestly, a lot of traditional marketing tools have not been as successful as we have wanted. We have tried hiring outside help for social media marketing, ad targeting, PR firms but have never found a high ROI on these. We found that sticking to promoting ourselves on Instagram along with making those in person connections with customers is where we see the most success.

As you’ve mentioned, Instagram has been of paramount importance to your brand’s success. How did you go about building up your IG following? Do you strategically create content with a purpose in mind? If so, what’s the thinking behind your strategies? 

As previously mentioned, the @portland page was really integral in all of this. Promoting @portlandgear through that page then cross promoting @portland on the @portlandgear page has made the two pages really complementary to one another. Posting twice a day on @portland and once a day on @portlandgear helps keep followers engaged without us posting new. You can expect something new every day from both pages. We try to drop products every 1-2 weeks, and plan small photoshoots for them. Then we try to have 4 large seasonal drops throughout the year where we put a lot of time and effort into those. We also realize that people don’t want to just see apparel so we try and throw in some personal stuff. We’re fun and silly people and like to post stuff about us. One, because that’s just what we want to post, and two it helps create a connection with our followers when they can put a face to something and it makes us feel more real. It’s pretty cool having people coming into the store feeling like they already somewhat know us – it helps create a solid relationship.

It’s clear that Portland Gear isn’t in business just to sell. You do a ton of community outreach and fun side projects with other local businesses. One example is your program called “Brand Camp”, which is a summer internship for high school and college kids to learn business. You’ve also teamed up with a local brewery to create a new beer – and you’re asking your followers to vote and help name it. All very cool stuff. Was the creation of, or participation in events like this a conscious marketing decision? In what ways have you seen it affect your business?

Community is almost more important to us than the actual product itself. Allowing others to be a part of this journey with us means everything. Brand Camp was initially born from students asking if they could intern with us. We didn’t have the workload for a full time intern so we would have kids come in for a day to shadow us. As great as that was, it wasn’t feasible to do with the numerous requests. We thought “how can we give back to multiple kids at once”? So, we set aside a week in the summer to teach them everything we know! It is now going to be on its fourth year this year with 2 different camps, a week each, with the University of Oregon as our main sponsor for the program.

As far as the beer goes, if we can create a beer that is supposed to represent Portland- of course we are going to have the people help make it! We also do volunteering days and invite the community to come join us, host free social events, and have put on things like the “Passport Challenge” which is a city wide scavenger hunt. This community has helped us become the brand we are so the more we can get everyone involved, the better. People want to feel a part of something and we’re lucky that we have the platform to give people do that. 

These are all really interesting ideas. However, is creating a program like Brand Camp feasible for other small e-Com business owners? If so, how should they approach it? 

Sure! We did it! There was a market for it and people were more or less asking for it, so we made it a reality. Create it and put your own twist on it. I would say it is almost easier as a small business to do something like that. Being a small team, it is so incredible to say, “Hey I have an idea for this”, and then we talk through the idea as a group and then just implement it. There is no red tape to go through. It may sound cheesy but honestly being authentic, genuine and understanding your customer and community is SO key. So for us, it was creating Brand Camp. For your own business, figure out what resonates with your community.

Throughout the journey, have you ever suffered any many setbacks or thought you might not make it?

We have been very fortunate to have never run into that problem and we have never considered throwing in the towel. We are very lucky to come in to work every day and create apparel for a community that we love. Portland is a growing and ever evolving place and hope to grow with it for many years to come.

Thank you greatly for taking the time to chat with ConveyThis today Eli. We really appreciate it. Many of our e-Com blog readers are currently in the process of scaling their eCommerce stores, so insights like the ones you’ve provided above, can help them get from where they are to where they want to be. To our blog readers, if you’d like to learn more about PortlandGear you can follow them on Instagram or check out their website here

Author

Alex Buran

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *