十多年來,我們幫助公司實現財務和品牌目標。 Onum是一家以價值為導向的SEO機構。

聯繫方式
我們的旅程

$5,000 MRR 或我們如何ConveyThis 500% 的收入。

TL; DR:本教程是關於構建一個小型的,有利可圖的網站翻譯器,從零開始,每月賺取$ 5,000。這與數十億獨角獸創業公司無關,我只是在描述自己的經歷。它是任何人都可以使用的有用,健壯和可盈利的工具。

2020年6月在紐約,發生Covid-19和喬治·弗洛伊德(George Floyd)暴力事件。人們已經厭倦了在家中的工作,政府的財政援助也用光了……商店被洗劫一空,警察被騷擾,安寧的企業主遭到毆打和搶劫。聽起來像是某種未來派電影中的恐怖場景。但是,不是。這是我們目前的生活。

我們在增長方面達到了一個新的ConveyThis 穿透了5,000美元的RR大關。這是一個令人興奮的旅程和目的 文章是坐下來, 反思已經做了什麼。它有助於 分析什麼為我們工作,什麼沒有。

如果您參考上一篇文章,我們在一月份以$ 2,000 MRR的價格發布了該文章(https://www.conveythis.com/our-journey/how-i-grew-my-saas-company-from-0-to- 2000個月/?locale = zh-CN),我們談到了行之有效的,而不幸的是卻沒有。真正不適合我們的是付費廣告:具體來說就是Google Ads

我們在Google上的統計數據顯示,從付費廣告中吸引免費訂閱者的成本為每位用戶66美元。

此刻,我感覺:

如果您考慮一下,那將是很多錢!這個免費的用戶不會給您帶來任何收益,但會佔用您的資源,並且需要您支付66美元!

付費使用者呢?我很高興你問了!當您開發 一個自由增值產品,ConveyThis,當然,你被卡住了 船上的免費載入和少數付費使用者。大多數使用者不會 支付。他們只是不會。平均而言,2-3%的免費用戶將超過他們的 限制,他們將升級到付費計劃。這就是你能得到的。所以, 谷歌廣告數學與 3% 的轉化率看起來像: $66 / 0.03 = $2, 200. 這遠遠高於我們計算的任何可行和合理的 LTV 。不能 告訴你那個號碼沒有競爭對手的免費食物, 哈哈! 因此,要讓付費廣告工作,您需要 提高價格如此之高,你的LTV將超過2,200美元。但更高的價格 會降低註冊, 因為很少有人能負擔得起。

使付費廣告起作用的另一種方法是找到一種使每次點擊費用減少的方法。在英語美國互聯網的競爭格局中,這是極不可能的。這是一場血腥的大屠殺,有10多個廣告客戶為爭奪曝光機會而奮鬥,有時甚至高達17。這並不是一個極限,因為越來越多的絕望廣告客戶正試圖通過在線競爭來搶占先機,從而找到運氣。我們是這些人中的一員,我們比別人出價高。歸根結底,我們還不是一家龐大的公司,因此我們無法與聯盟之外的人們搏鬥。我們需要轉游擊!即設定較小的目標並加以保護。就像真正的游擊隊一樣,它們機動靈活,規模小,無法被大型軍隊擊敗。

因此,第一輪付費廣告丟失了,我們撤回了由Google Ads推廣的網站。同時,釋放的時間和精力幫助我們重新定位了在其他方面的工作:社交媒體和外國SEO。

國外 SEO 是一個了不起的,被低估的東西。如果 說英語的我們市場是一個血戰, 有藍色的海洋在其他 語言。例如,德國的競爭少了兩倍。法國—— 競爭減少三倍。俄語,在 另一方面, 沒有競爭!我們當時想:「天哪!這 不可能!但一方面,人們支離破碎,更喜歡訪問網站 以他們自己的語言。那麼,為什麼我們不能用我們自己的技術來推廣 ConveyThis外語?因此,全球擴張的想法已經開始。 我們已將ConveyThis、俄語、阿拉伯文、印地語和 葡萄牙文。德語、法語、荷蘭文、瑞典文、中文、日語、 接下來是韓語。目標是實現我們自己的全球曝光和翻譯 網站是一種經濟高效的方式。

首先,我們使用自動翻譯器預先翻譯所有頁面。 它是該策略上的預設ConveyThis。然後,我們使用我們的詞彙表功能 排除某些單詞被翻譯。然後,我們分析高 可販運的內容,並手動校對客戶在 訪問最。這特別適用於註冊、結帳和儀錶板 頁面。最終使用者在登錄到使用者儀錶板時應放心, 一切都應該以自己的語言無可挑剔。這對於 壽命和再使用。

國外SEO的另一層是電子郵件新聞通訊和電子郵件自動化的翻譯。我們目前與MailerLite合作,他們具有成本效益的平台確實是一筆交易。我們從2018年開始使用它們,當時我們的電子郵件列表中的用戶為零。如今,該列表已超過10,000個有效訂閱者,而且我們的月度計劃非常龐大,並且會保持強勁增長! MailerLite具有很酷的電子郵件自動化序列。當用戶註冊後,我們可以將其添加到此列表中,他們將收到一系列包含各種優惠和提示的自動電子郵件:如何設置帳戶,觀看哪些有用的視頻,之後要執行的步驟等等。 。此外,還有一種方法可以將用戶進一步細分為類別和細分。我們將其細分為免費和付費部分。此外,還有一種方法可以將其細分為英語和外國部分。因此,您可以使用他們自己的語言向他們發送自動化郵件。很整潔吧?

說到價格, 我們推出了另一個很酷的 把戲。就像捷藍,我們想搬進低成本領域,但 不犧牲品質和功能。這是一個有吸引力的想法, 因為很多 人們購買的價格,並堅持與最具成本效益的選擇。的 這個想法不是在短期內撕掉使用者,而是給他們一個 產品以 50% 的折扣,並確保他們長期忠誠與高品質 支援和關心。我們就是這樣做的價格下降一半,有最好的 月記錄。每個付費用戶都獲得一個ConveyThis計劃,50% 折扣。這是一個很難吞咽的藥丸, 我們的競爭對手誰將被迫 匹配或遭受裁員或兩者。這來自行動手冊 "行銷戰"一本很棒的書, 如果你想讀。我們是一個 小公司的任何計數, $5, 0 Mrr 不是一個巨大的數位吹噓, 但我 我記錄我們的旅程,以顯示,即使在2020年,有一個方法開始 公司,並成功地與它。我們現在不能進攻, 也不能防守。 它是市場領導者和弱者的工具。我們只能在較小的玩法中玩 市場假裝是遊擊隊迅速贏得小戰鬥的地方 在那裡我們有二比一的優勢。

社交媒體的增長。 Facebook正在成長。 YouTube和Twitter也是如此。 LinkedIn仍然很重要,Medium也是如此。除了Google搜索外,還有很多很棒的用戶在閒逛的地方。充分利用這些網絡並發揮其規則來傳播信息是一個好主意。

所以,我感覺就是這樣!一拳淘汰賽!

但是您會在那傳播什麼信息?如果您來這樣說:“嘿,我有一個工具可以幫助您將網站翻譯成多種語言並吸引更多客戶”,那麼人們會看待它並且不會採取行動。此消息不會像喬治·弗洛伊德(George Floyd)被暗殺的照片那樣病毒式傳播,也不會引起任何關注。社交網絡都與病毒的病毒力有關,歸結為內容分發。社交網絡喜歡人們關心的相關內容:貓,狗,政治,流行病,恐怖新聞等。沒有人會介意閱讀您的網站翻譯器。那不是人性的一部分。因此,要在社交領域取得成功,我們必須集思廣益,並提出一種強有力的“一舉兩得”的內容營銷策略。

我們部署了博客,並僱用了遠程作家來為我們認為很受歡迎的主題製作高質量的內容。在Twitter或Medium上搜索流行的標籤,以了解人們閱讀和搜索的內容。作者製作內容,然後將其分發到以博客為焦點的社交網絡上。這導致我們的博客在過去三個月中的受歡迎程度和讀者人數增長了50%。這是一個非常令人鼓舞的消息。

Youtube 是另一個社交網路, 是有點分開 LinkedIn、媒體和 Facebook。要在YouTube上取得成功,您需要瞭解 它如何選擇視頻作為建議的視頻或趨勢功能。這 需要生產一些非常高品質的東西, 並捕獲使用者 想像力,使他們著迷於螢幕。觀看持續時間是主 因素, 我們沒有成功, 不幸的是。在結束 這一天, 沒有什麼迷人的解釋如何語言切換器 工作, 即使你顯示裸體的女孩 (我們不, 哈哈) 。然而,我們發現 一種方法, 吸引多個 Youtube 博客寫評論ConveyThis和 大流行有一個偉大的催化劑,當人們留在家裡,他們 需要更多的副收入來維持。Youtube 流量給我們帶來了一個穩定的推薦 源,這是背後的有機搜索,但仍要說明的東西。

因此,總的來說,增長一直穩定,讓我想起了旋轉沉重的飛輪。沒有神話般的開始。我們還沒有中獎,也沒有被媒體視為寵兒。這是系統的內容分發和推廣。我們像運動員一樣進行繁重的鍛煉,以便傳播信息。最終,下一個目標是$ 10,000 MRR 。您認為我們什麼時候才能實現?

愛你們所有人❤️

PS:分享/鼓掌/評論很重要?

作者

亞歷克斯·布蘭

評論(1)

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址不會被公開。必填字段已標記*

Over 10 years we helping companies reach their financial and branding goals. Onum is a values-driven SEO agency dedicated.

CONTACTS
Our Journey

$5,000 MRR or How we grew ConveyThis’ revenue by 500%.

TL;DR: This tutorial is about building a small, profitable website translator, from scratch and making it earning $5000 per month. This has nothing to do with multibillion unicorn startups, I’m just describing my experience. It’s about a useful, robust, and profitable tool that anyone can make.

It’s New York, June 2020, the epicenter of Covid-19 and George Floyd violence. People are getting tired of work from home, and the government’s financial help has run out… The stores are being looted, the police is being harassed, the peaceful business owners are beaten up and robbed. Sounds like a horror scenario from some kind of futuristic movie. But, it’s not. It’s our current life.

We’ve reached a new milestone in growth of ConveyThis and penetrated $5,000 MRR mark. It was an exciting journey and the purpose of this article is to sit back and reflex on what has been done. It is helpful to analyze what has worked for us and what has not.

If you refer to the previous post we’ve published on $2,000 MRR back in January (https://www.conveythis.com/our-journey/how-i-grew-my-saas-company-from-0-to-2000-month/?locale=en), we spoke about what has worked well and what, unfortunately, hadn’t. What really didn’t work for us is paid advertising: Google Ads, to be specific.

We’ve pulled our stats on Google, and found out that cost of bringing a free subscriber from paid ads was $66 per user.

At this moment, I felt like:

That’s a lot of money if you think about that! The free user that doesn’t bring you any money, but taking up your resources and costs you $66!

What about paid users? I am glad you asked! When you develop a freemium product, what is ConveyThis, of course, you are stuck with a boatload of freeloaders and a tiny minority of paid users. Most users won’t pay. They just won’t. And on average 2-3% of free users will exceed their limits and they would upgrade to a paid plan. That’s all you can get. So, the Google Ads math with 3% conversion rate would look like: $66 / 0.03 = $2,200. That’s well above any feasible and plausible LTV that we’ve calculated. Can’t tell you that number though. No free food for competitors, hahaha!  So, to get the paid ads to work, you need to raise the prices so high, that your LTV would exceed $2,200. But higher prices would lower the sign ups as fewer people would be able to afford that.

Another way to make paid ads to work, is to find a way to pay less per click. In the competitive landscape of English speaking US Internet, this is highly improbable. It is a bloodbath as more than 10 advertisers are fighting for the exposure, sometimes as high as 17. And this is not a limit as more and more desperate advertisers are trying to relocate online and find their luck by outbidding the incumbents. We were one of these folks and we were outbid. In the end of the day, we are not a huge firm yet, so we can’t wrestle with folks out of our league. We need to turn guerilla! I.e. set smaller targets and protect them. Just like real guerilla, they are mobile, strong at small scale and can’t be defeated by larger armies.

Thus, the first round of paid ads was lost and we had withdrawn our website from being promoted by Google Ads. At the same time, the released amount of time and energy has helped us to reposition our efforts toward other things: social media and foreign SEO.

Foreign SEO is a remarkable, underestimated thing. If English speaking US market is a bloodbath, there are blue oceans in other languages. For example, Germany has twice less competition. France –  three times less competition. Russian, on the other hand, no competition at all! We were like: “Holy shit!”. This is not possible! But it is. People are fragmented and prefer to visit websites in their own language. So, why can’t we just use our own technology to promote ConveyThis in foreign languages? Thus, the idea of global expansion has begun. We have translated ConveyThis into Spanish, Russian, Arabic, Hindi and Portuguese languages. With German, French, Dutch, Swedish, Chinese, Japanese, Korean next. The goal is to attain a global exposure and translation of our own website is a cost effective way to do it.

First, we pre-translate all pages with automatic translator. It is a default option on ConveyThis. Then, we use our Glossary feature to exclude certain words from being translated. Then, we analyze the high trafficable content, and manually proofread the parts that customers are visiting the most. This especially for registration, checkout and dashboard pages. The end user should feel at ease when logging into user dashboard and everything should be impeccable in their own language. This is critical for longevity and re-use.

Another layer of foreign SEO is translation of email newsletters and email automations. We currently work with MailerLite and their cost-effective platform is a real deal. We started using them back in 2018 when our email list had zero users. Today, the list has exceeded 10,000 active subscribers and we are on a hefty monthly plan and keep going strong! MailerLite has a cool email automation sequence. When a user signs up, we can add them to this list and they will be receiving an array of automatic emails with various offers and tips: how to setup an account, what helpful videos to watch, what steps to do after that and so on. In addition, there is a way to further segment users into categories and segments. We broke it down into Free and Paid segments. In addition, there is a way to break it down into English and foreign segments. So you can email them automations in their own language. Pretty neat, right?

When it comes to price, we’ve launched another pretty cool trick. Just like JetBlue, we thought of moving into a low cost territory, but without sacrifice for quality and features. This is an attractive idea as lots of people shop for the price and stick with most cost effective options. The idea is not to rip off users for the short term, but to give them away a product at 50% discount and ensure their long term loyalty with high quality support and care. That’s what we did. Lowered prices in half and had the best month on record. Each paid user was getting a paid ConveyThis plan with a 50% discount. That’s a hard pill to swallow for our competitors who would be forced to match or suffer layoffs or both. This came from the playbook of “Marketing Warfare”. An amazing book if you care to read. We are a smaller firm by any count, $5,000 MRR is not a huge number to brag about, but I am documenting our journey to show that even in 2020, there is a way to start a company and succeed with it. We can’t be offensive nor defensive at the moment. It is a tool for market leaders and underdogs. We can only play in the smaller markets pretending to be guerilla quickly winning little battles at places where we have two to one advantage.

Social Media growth. Facebook is growing. So does YouTube and Twitter. LinkedIn is still relevant, so is Medium. There are lots of fabulous places where users are hanging out besides Google search. It is a great idea to tap into these networks and play by their rules to spread the message across.

So, I felt like this is it! One punch knockout!

But what kind of message would you spread there? If you come and say something like: “Hey, I have a tool that would help you to translate your website into multiple languages and get more customers”, people would look at it and won’t take action. This message won’t be spread virally like photos of George Floyd’s assassination and it won’t get any traction. Social networks are all about viral virility which boils down to content distribution. Social networks like relevant content that people care about: cats, dogs, politics, pandemics, horror news and so on. No one would care to read about your website translator. That’s just not what is part of human nature. Thus, to succeed in social, we had to brainstorm and come up with a powerful one two punch content marketing strategy.

We deployed our blog, and hired remote writers to produce quality content for the topics we deemed to be popular. Search for popular hashtags on Twitter or Medium to get an idea what people read and search for. The writers produce content and we distribute it on social networks where focal point is our blog. This resulted in our blog growing in popularity and readership by 50% in the last 3 months. This is a very encouraging news.

Youtube is another social network that is a bit apart from LinkedIn, Medium and Facebook. To succeed on YouTube, you need to understand how it selects the videos to be features as suggested videos or in trends. This requires producing something of very high quality and would capture users imagination and makes them mesmerized to the screen. Watch duration is a main factor and we haven’t been successful with that, unfortunately. In the end of the day, there is nothing mesmerizing in explaining how the language switcher works, even if you show naked girls (which we don’t, hahaha). However, we found a way to attract multiple Youtube bloggers to write reviews about ConveyThis and pandemics had a great catalyst for that when people stayed at home and they needed more side income to sustain. Youtube traffic brings us a steady referral source which is behind organic search, but still something to account for.

So, all in all, the growth has been steady and reminded me of rotating a heavy flywheel. There was no fabulous start. We haven’t won a lottery and wasn’t picked up by media as a darling technology. It’s been a systematic content distribution and outreach. We worked like athletes doing the heavy workout in order to spread the word. In the end of the day, the next target is $10,000 MRR. When do you think we will hit that?

Love you all guys ❀️

P.S: Sharing / clapping / commenting is caring 😘

Author

Alex Buran

Comment (1)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *