十多年來,我們幫助公司實現財務和品牌目標。 Onum是一家以價值為導向的SEO機構。

聯繫方式
本地化技巧

我們如何在前3個月中吸引2,000名用戶,並在低成本音頻轉錄中成為#1

當我們在過去100年來最嚴重的流行病中(又名COVID-19)推出GGLOT時,我們認為我們應該製造它,並希望在接下來的幾週內會有一兩個用戶。啟動啟動是一項繁瑣而費力的工作。您構建軟件。啟動一個網站。設置在線廣告,並希望每次點擊費用足夠低,這樣您就可以吸引至少一位付費用戶。特別是,當我們之前曾嘗試啟動Ackuna.com時,這是一個沒有人的手機翻譯平台。它做得不好,我們已經停止支持它。

那個時候我們也遵循同樣的謹慎態度。經濟形勢不佳。美國處於封鎖狀態,故意破壞者破壞了歷史地標,並宣布了西雅圖自治共和國,但我們試圖保持理智,在流行病的核心地帶-紐約市,建設有意義的東西。目標非常簡單–啟動並吸引至少一位付費客戶。而已。沒有主要的皇帝舉動。只有一位付費客戶。只是一個可以驗證這個想法。那是計劃。

長話短說。我們以創紀錄的兩週推出了這家新的創業公司!我不知道為什麼這麼快和這麼簡單。部分原因是Ackuna發生故障,該系統中已經開發了帶有信用卡處理鉤子和圖形的儀表板。我們要做的就是設置一個新的登錄頁面,在其中填充內容並稍微自定義儀表板。本質上是複制粘貼過程。感覺就像在同一個麵團上煮另一個餅乾一樣。那是快速而簡單的。

我們已於2020年3月13日(星期五)啟動了這家初創公司而我在這裡已在此發布了博客。我開車下班,錄製了視頻,談論了大流行病,並對我所建立的內容很有用感到樂觀。每個企業家都覺得相同的東西,對嗎?但是,等到星期一我恢復工作時,我已經看到幾個新用戶已經註冊,一個人下了付費訂單!有效!萬歲!我真的很高興,因為用戶能夠弄清楚註冊過程,上傳文件進行轉錄並為此付費。一切正常!我什至沒有收到來自他的關於質量差或其他威脅的投訴。這是乾淨的交易。用戶似乎很滿意。我也很滿意!

這段經歷教會了我什麼?

如果您一次失敗,請不要害怕嘗試其他嘗試。特別是當您已經具有先前項目中的模板時。只需複制並粘貼現有佈局,添加新內容,然後嘗試將新產品重新推銷給新的目標受眾。它可能真的很好。嘗試之前,您不會知道。

技巧1 –構建簡單的產品。

關注什麼不包括,而包括什麼。太有用不是 好。保持簡單。如果您希望使用者瞭解如何使用 SaaS 產品,不要讓它變得複雜。大多數 SaaS 產品失敗是因為 他們需要產品研究博士學位, 以便瞭解如何使用 它。示例,SalesForce。嘗試瞭解如何為您的 組織不發瘋!

提示2 –創建三個訂閱計劃,然後讓用戶選擇。

人們喜歡選擇。但是當他們不確定哪個計劃更好時,他們會在中間選擇一些東西。在心理學中,這種現象稱為選擇心理學。太多的選擇導致更少的決策。三種選擇是最佳選擇,用戶會落在中間位置,特別是如果您標記了該選項:“最受歡迎!”

提示#3 –創建免費計劃。

當人們在網上發現您時,他們不太可能註冊並付款。相反,每個人都想測試水域。免費檢查您的產品,投入他們的時間和精力來學習它,然後才同意付款。免費計劃消除了懷疑。免費計劃使您更容易嘗試一下。他們沒有什麼可失去的,您將看到轉換率增加。

提示4 –從第一天開始跟踪轉化。

啟動任何形式的廣告時,必須設置轉化跟踪。我使用Google Ads,而轉換跟踪技術是用戶註冊。我不在乎他們是否付錢。我只關心他們是否簽約。付款是另一回事。這是關於用戶是否信任您的網站的故事。實際註冊是最重要的。它有助於確定哪些關鍵字會引導正確的訪問者類型。您將提高對正確關鍵字的出價,並降低對浪費金錢和實現零註冊的關鍵字的出價。

提示5 –請勿充電過多。

您無法以高價贏得客戶。發起沃爾瑪的山姆·沃爾頓(Sam Walton)知道了這一點,並擊敗了任何試圖在零售業務上挑戰他的競爭對手。傑夫·貝索斯(Jeff Bezos)挺了個勁。他的在線商店首先在價格上領先於Barns和Noble,然後又在其他細分市場中佔據了其他位置,從而在定價方面取得了積極的領先優勢。價格真的很好。因此,建議不要收取太多費用。

但是利潤率呢?您如何在提高每次點擊費用的同時競爭和保持競爭力?那是個好問題。從低成本角度重新設計您的業務。研究Ryan Air和JetBlue等低成本航空公司。看看是什麼使他們在營銷策略中如此特別和有效。他們在不必要的事情上省錢。他們投資於技術,以使障礙保持自動化。因此,節省的費用變得可觀。甚至在80年代,沃爾瑪(Walmart)本身也是在其出納機和物流背後投資技術的領導者。他們比其他任何競爭對手都更快地實現了中央服務器和商店之間的通信,以按比例和有效地分配商品。

提示#6 • 使用WordPress作為原型引擎。

我個人是一個超級粉絲, WordPress 2008 年, 當它第一次 出現在互聯網上。這是一個博客平臺,旨在取代 博客和競爭工具。它取得了成功, 但最終, Wp 轉化為強大的 SaaS 工具,加快產品發佈 並允許快速的網站原型。豐富的主題和 外掛程式可供選擇,您可以快速設置新網站,添加連絡人 形式,最重要的是,外掛程式,範圍您的網站的 速度和多語言功能。

提示7 –從第一天開始向全球擴展。

時間合適時,無需等待。永遠不會。付費點擊的價格一直在上漲,越來越多的競爭者試圖在Google上競標相同的有利可圖的關鍵字,您會發現自己身處千瘡百孔。轉換成本天文數字很高。那麼,為什麼還要等待並希望美國的價格下降呢?

我們使用我們自己的SaaS網站翻譯技術ConveyThis 將GGLOT 擴展為十種語言:英語西班牙語法語德語、俄語荷蘭文丹麥、韓語、中文日語。 我們下載並使用我們自己的WordPress外掛程式 將網站擴展到新的子資料夾: /sp、 /de、 /fr、 /nl 等。 它非常適合SEO和有機交通。你不想依賴付費 谷歌廣告一輩子。您還希望投資於內容 行銷和吸引優質的有機搜尋引擎流量。我們 技術允許這一點。所以,從它開始的最佳時間是現在。 有機交通需要很長時間才能建成。你甚至可能活不下去,直到 流量將開始湧入您的網站。所以,第一天做 就像傑夫 · 貝佐斯說的

提示#8 –不要停止自動翻譯。

聘請專業語言學家!在我們的案例中,大多數互動 我們的產品出現在儀錶板頁面中。它們是內部的 並要求準確翻譯成外語,以便 確保使用者使用它們,不要笑。機器翻譯可以 聽起來很有趣, 使您的網站看起來不專業。最後一個 你想做的事情是投資所有的錢到付費廣告和 漏鬥的末尾讓使用者在遇到嚴重情況時鬆懈 翻譯的產品頁面。轉換將受到影響!我們解決了 問題通過發送機器翻譯的專業校對 西班牙文、法語、德語、荷蘭文、丹麥文、日語、中文和韓語 翻譯。它花了我們一點點的努力,並耗盡了一點錢,但 在旅程結束時,它有助於增加轉換和 確保外籍人士能夠成功地與我們的 網站。ConveyThis提供專業的校對選項的方式!

提示9 –用外語展開Google Ads。

當您起步進入英語細分市場並感覺到哪些廣告帶來最多的訪問量後,請嘗試擴展為其他語言。就我們而言,我們去的第一個國家是德國。我們注意到那裡的競爭較低,但是德國人的消費能力與美國人一樣高!我們使用Google Translate對Google Ads進行校對,使用Google Translate將關鍵字轉換為德語(我們工作人員中沒有人會說德語)。暗示。檢查您當地的德國競爭對手!他們很有可能已經提出了很棒的廣告敘述。借用他們的想法並採用以供您自己使用。這樣一來,您將可以製作出更好的廣告,並節省寶貴的時間來嘗試聽起來真實。然後我們轉向法語,發現每次點擊的價格更低。海洋越來越乾淨。鯊魚留在美國。要擴展到俄羅斯,亞洲和說西班牙語的國家,那兒真是一片湛藍的海洋。廣告花費幾美分。那就對了。便士。我覺得又是2002年。奇怪但令人愉悅的感覺。那就是出國旅行的需要。投資語言翻譯,逃避與您爭吵的血腥池塘。

技巧10 –讓它成長

因此,三個月後,實際的訂閱人數沒有明顯增加。一些用戶購買了我們每月19美元的業務計劃,甚至有一些用戶購買了每月49美元的Pro計劃。但是大多數人都喜歡Freemium優惠,所以他們大多數都進入了Free帳戶。它不會打擾我很多。用戶為我們的服務添加了書籤,並在需要我們時返回。這是一種完美的隨用隨付模式,與客戶服務互動少。我最高興的是缺少客戶支持票。它表明我們已經很好地完成了工作,以使產品更易於理解和使用。這樣就消除了產品設置,定制和客戶服務方面的來回問題。

GGLOT 在頭三個月註冊了 2,000 多個使用者。他們中的大多數來自谷歌廣告和有機SEO感謝ConveyThis外掛程式。 然而,我們正在與其他行銷管道,如Facebook調情 和LinkedIn。誰知道呢,也許會有一個藍色的海洋在這些 營銷平臺呢?有人能暗示一下嗎?讓我們 看到, 並在三個月內再次檢查, 當我們將寫一個新的博客 文章關於我們的 SaaS 之旅的新進展!

乾杯!

作者

亞歷克斯·布蘭

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址不會被公開。必填字段已標記*

Over 10 years we helping companies reach their financial and branding goals. Onum is a values-driven SEO agency dedicated.

CONTACTS
Localization Hacks

How We Got 2,000 Users In The First 3 Months and Became #1 in Low Cost Audio Transcriptions

When we launched GGLOT in the middle of the worst pandemic in the past 100 years, aka COVID-19, we thought let’s build it, and hopefully, we will have a user or two in the next couple of weeks. The startup launch is a tedious, laborious job. You build software. Launch a website. Set up online advertising and hope that cost per click would be low enough so you can attract at least one paid user. Especially, when we’ve burned previously trying to launch Ackuna.com – the phone interpreting platform without humans. It didn’t do well and we’ve stopped supporting it.

Same caution has followed us that time around. Bad economic situation. The US on lockdown, vandals are destroying historical landmarks and declaring Seattle Autonomous republics, but we try to remain sane and build something meaningful in the heart of the epidemic – New York City. The target was fairly simple – launch and bring at least one paying customer. That’s it. No major emperor moves. Just one paid customer. Just one to validate the idea. That was the plan.

Long story short. We’ve launched the new startup in a record setting two weeks! I don’t know why it was so fast and simple. Part of the reason was the failed Ackuna, which already had a developed dashboard in it with credit card processing hooks and graphs. All we had to do is to setup a new landing page, fill it with content and slightly customize the dashboard. Essentially, a copy paste process. Felt like cooking another cookie from the same dough. That was fast and simple.

We’ve launched the startup on Friday, March 13, 2020 and I’ve blogged about it here. I drove back from work, recorded that video, talked about the pandemic and felt optimistic that what I’ve built would be useful. Same stuff what every entrepreneur feels, right? However, by the time I’ve returned back to work on Monday, I’ve seen that a couple of new users have registered and one person placed a paid order! It worked! Hooray! I was really ecstatic because a user was able to figure out the sign up process, upload the file for transcription and pay for it. Everything worked! I didn’t even receive a complaint about the bad quality or other threats from him. It was a clean transaction. The user seemed satisfied. So satisfied I was as well !!!

What this experience have taught me?

If you failed once, don’t be afraid to try something else. Especially, when you already have the templates from the previous projects. Just copy and paste the existing layouts, add new content and try to re-market the new product to your new target audience. It may work really well. You won’t know until you try.

Tip #1 – Build the simple products.

Focus on what not to include rather what include. Too useful is not good. Keep it simple. If you want users to figure out how to use your SaaS product, don’t make it complicated. Most SaaS products fail because they require a PhD in product study in order to understand how to use it. Example, SalesForce. Try to learn how to implement CRM for your organization without going crazy!

Tip #2 – Create three subscription plans and let the users chose.

People like to have options. But when they are not sure which plan is better, they would choose something in the middle. In psychology this phenomena is called the psychology of choice. Too many options lead to fewer decisions. Three choices are optimal and users would fall somewhere in the middle, especially if you mark that option: “Most Popular!”

Tip #3 – Create a free plan.

When people discover you online, they would not likely sign up and pay. Instead, everyone would like to test waters. Check your product free of charge, invest their time and effort in learning it and only then agreeing to pay for it. The free plan eliminates the doubt. The free plan makes it easier to give it a try. They have nothing to lose and you will see an increase in conversion rates.

Tip #4 – Track conversions from day one.

When you launch any form of advertising, you must setup the conversion tracking. I used Google Ads and my conversion tracking technique was user sign ups. I didn’t care whether they pay something or not. I only cared whether they signed up or not. Payment is another story. It’s a story of whether the user trusts your website. The actual sign up is the most important one. It helps to determine which keywords lead the right type of visitors. You would increase bids on the right keywords and reduce bids on the keywords that waste money and bring zero sign ups.

Tip #5 – Don’t charge too much.

You can’t win a customer with high prices. Sam Walton who launched Walmart knew that and defeated any competitors who tried to challenge him in retail business. Jeff Bezos took it up the notch. His online store took an aggressive lead on pricing when it first unseated Barns and Noble, and then other retailers in the other niches. Price works really well. So, the suggestion is to not charge too much.

But what about the profit margin? How can you compete and stay solvent with raising cost per click? That’s the great question. Re-engineers your business from the low cost perspective. Study low-cost airlines such as Ryan Air and JetBlue. See what makes them so special and effective in their marketing strategy. They save money on things that are not essential. They invest into technology to keep the hurdles automated. Thus, the savings become sizable. Even Walmart itself was a leader investing into technology behind its cashier machines and logistics back in the eighties. Faster than any other competitor they have implemented central servers and communications between the stores to distribute goods proportionately and effectively.

Tip #6 – Use WordPress as your prototype engine.

I’m personally a big fan of WordPress since 2008 when it first appeared on the internet. It’s a blogging platform designed to replace Blogger and competing tools. It had successful won, but eventually, WP transformed into a powerful SaaS tool that speeds up the product launch and allowed for rapid website prototyping. With abundance of themes and plugins to choose from, you can quickly setup a new website, add contact forms, and most importantly, the plugins that extent your website’s speed and multilingual functionality.

Tip #7 – Expand globally from day one.

No need to wait when the time is right. It will never be. With price of paid clicks always raising, and more competitors trying to bid for the same lucrative keywords on Google, you will find yourself in the whirlwind of a blood ocean. The cost of conversion is astronomically high. So, why wait and hope that prices in US would go down?

We used our own SaaS website translation technology ConveyThis to expand GGLOT into ten languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Russian, Dutch, Danish, Korean, Chinese, and Japanese. We downloaded and used our own WordPress translation plugin which expanded the website into new sub-folders: /sp, /de, /fr, /nl and so on. It’s great for SEO and organic traffic. You don’t want to rely on paid Google ads the whole life. You also want to invest into content marketing and attract quality organic search engine traffic. Our technology allows just that. So, the best time to start with it is now. Organic traffic takes long time to build. You may not even survive till the traffic will start pouring to your website. So, do it on day one like Jeff Bezos says.

Tip #8 – Don’t stop with automatic translations.

Hire professional linguists! In our case, the majority of interaction with our product occurs inside the dashboard pages. They are internal and require an accurate translation into foreign languages in order to ensure the users use them and don’t laugh. Machine translations could sound very funny and make your website look unprofessional. The last thing you want to do is to invest all the money into paid ads and in the end of the funnel have users slack off when they encounter badly translated product pages. The conversions would suffer! We solved that problem by sending machine translations for professional proofreading by Spanish, French, German, Dutch, Danish, Japanese, Chinese and Korean translators. It took us a little effort and drained a bit of money, but in the end of the journey, it helped to increase the conversions and make sure that foreign visitors can successfully interact with our website. ConveyThis offers professional proofreading option by the way!

Tip #9 – Expand Google Ads in foreign languages.

Once you get up and going in the English segment and get a feeling which ads bring the most traffic, try to expand into other languages. In our case, the first country we went to was Germany. We noticed that competition was lower there, but the consumption power of German was as high as Americans! We proofread our Google Ads with Google Translate, converted keywords into German with Google Translate (no one on our staff speaks German). Hint. Check your local German competitors! Chances are they have already came up with great ad narratives. Borrow their ideas and adopt for your own use. You would make better ads that way and would save precious time trying to sound authentic. Then we moved to French and discovered the price per click even lower. The ocean was getting cleaner. Sharks were left in the US. When it came to expanding to Russia, Asia and Spanish speaking countries, it was a completely blue ocean there. The ads cost pennies. That’s right. Pennies. I felt like it is 2002 all over again. Strange, but pleasant feeling. That’s what it takes to go abroad. Invest into language translation and escape the bloody pond your are sparring with.

Tip #10 – Let it grow

Thus, three months later, the actual subscriptions didn’t raise significantly. Some users bought our $19/month Business plans, some even $49/month Pro plans. But the majority of them fell into Free accounts as most people do with Freemium offers. It doesn’t bother me much. Users bookmark our service and come back when they need us. It’s a perfect pay-as-you-go model with low customer service interaction. My best joy is the lack of customer support tickets. It shows that we’ve done our job well enough to make a product easier to understand and easier to work with. This eliminates any back and forth questions with product setup, customization and customer service.

GGLOT has signed up over 2,000 users in the first three months. Most of them came from Google Ads and organic SEO thanks to ConveyThis plugin. However, we are flirting with other marketing channels such as Facebook and LinkedIn. Who knows, maybe there will be a blue ocean in these marketing platforms as well? Anyone who’s can give a hint on that? Let’s see and check up again in three months when we will write a new blog article on the new progress in our SaaS journey!

Cheers!

Author

Alex Buran

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *