亞歷克斯·布倫,ConveyThis.com

星期一早上下雨。我坐在辦公室裡思考未來。作為一家流行語言翻譯機構:美國翻譯服務公司的董事,我控制了一切——建立的文檔翻譯業務,感謝返回的客戶,強大的內部員工。然而,有一件事讓我一直困惑,關於在SaaS市場推出新初創公司的消息。我該怎麼做才能啟動我的 SaaS 業務?我已經決定是時候做一些新的事情了。我已經為一些ConveyThis——世界上最好的網站翻譯解決方案奠定了基礎。

早在 2017 年 11 月,當我們未能推出 Fiverr.com時,我們決定將所有精力都集中於發射。為了啟動地面運行,我們開始了一個WordPress外掛程式。我們的團隊知道如何製作WP外掛程式,我們已經有3個外掛程式在翻譯服務美國,阿庫納和LinGo的目錄中。上次它是一個相當原始的外掛程式業務。我們提供了驚人的用戶體驗,讓人們翻譯他們的網站到多種語言與谷歌翻譯,並沒有收集任何金錢作為回報。這是不可持續的,沒有激勵我們不夠。

因此,這一次,我們決定從頭開始構建一個真正的初創公司:公司,計費和用戶登錄系統,獨立的團隊和獨立的業務模型。以前沒有任何東西與母公司Translation Services USA交織在一起。我們開始新鮮!

事實證明,這是一個緩慢但令人生畏的過程。一方面,我們沒有任何品牌資產,但另一方面,傳達這開始帶來很少,但真正的收入。我記得我第一次涉足收入模式WordPress林戈外掛程式。它早在 2016 年推出, 但執行不夠好。在 WP 目錄中存在兩年後,它只返回了 10 美元的 MRR。看來這樣的失敗!好像唯一購買這個付費計劃的人錯誤地做了, 忘了。對於我們的初創公司來說, 這是一個悲傷的時刻...

創業公司的生活充滿了悲傷的時刻。我們稱他們為錯誤,幾乎不承認失敗。我們寧願說我們已經轉向管理員,因為我們錯了並且做得不好。因此,以這樣的士氣,對veyrythis.com的新迭代進行工作是一個非常謹慎的項目。但這就是對我們的法國競爭對手的啟發,我們繼續前進!

因此,我們又開始努力工作了。新網站是從頭開始編碼的。資料庫是在新的專用伺服器上設置的。我們已經編碼了WordPress外掛程式,以具有最少的選項量,並提交到目錄進行審查。這是一個等待的遊戲, 因為邁克愛潑斯坦誰負責 Wp 目錄外掛程式審查, 已經生我們的氣。她一直指責我們違反政策,但事實並非如此。我們的第一個 WP 外掛程式是在 2008 年推出的,當時政策沒有到位。這隻是一個不幸的巧合的事件, 觸發了一個新的外掛程式審查和無情的眼睛邁克已經降落在我們的團隊...

經過幾個月的來回編碼和與WP編輯器的聊天,我們能夠將經過大量清理的腳本上載到WP目錄中,並且我們獲得SaaS成功的旅程已經開始!那是2018年2月14日,美國情人節。我很高興和樂觀。它有望成為通往未知世界的新旅程。

ConveyThis於2018年2月14日推出

外掛程式被接受。我們歡呼雀躍,準備接收大量的下載、使用者錯誤報告和請求。我們耐心地在電腦前等待, 盯著我們 27 英寸顯示器的空白螢幕...一天過去了,兩天,什麼都沒有變。我看上去很驚訝。這是我WordPress的目錄嗎?這是世界上最受歡迎的 CMS,擁有 28% 的市場份額嗎?我無法理解低音量。每日下載量小於10次。很多人下載,沒有保留我們的外掛程式卸載它。我想知道為什麼, 但我們沒有任何使用者反饋迴圈與取消訂閱的人保持聯繫...因此,我們開始創新。對我來說,發射日期似乎是旅程的結束,但實際上這隻是一個開始。

第1部分結束。

作者

亞歷克斯·布蘭

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址不會被公開。必填字段已標記*

Over 10 years we helping companies reach their financial and branding goals. Onum is a values-driven SEO agency dedicated.

CONTACTS
Alex Buran, founder of ConveyThis.com

It’s been a rainy Monday morning. I sat in the office and thought about the future. As a director of a popular language translation agency: Translation Services USA, I had everything under control – established document translation business, grateful returning clients, strong in-house employees. However, one thing has bogged me continuously, the news about new startups that launch in the SaaS market. What could I do to launch my SaaS business? I’ve decided that it is time to do something new. I’ve laid out a groundwork for ConveyThis – the world’s best website translation solution.

Back in November 2017, when we failed to launch a clone of Fiverr.com, we decided to focus all our efforts on launching conveythis. To hit the ground running, we started a WordPress plugin. Our team knew how to make WP plugins, and we have already had 3 plugins in the directory for Translation Services USA, Ackuna and LinGo. Last time it was a pretty primitive plugin business. We provided an amazing user experience allowing people to translate their websites into multiple languages with Google Translate and didn’t collect any money in return. It wasn’t sustainable and didn’t motivate us enough.

So this time around, we’ve decided to build a real start-up from the ground up: company, billing and user login systems, separate team and separate business model. Nothing was intertwined with a parent company Translation Services USA as it used to be. We started fresh!

It turned out to be a slow, but formidable process. On one hand we didn’t have any brand equity, but on the other, conveythis started to bring little, but real revenue. I remember my first foray into revenue model on WordPress with LinGo plugin. It was launched back in 2016, but wasn’t executed well enough. It returned only $10 in MRR after two years of existence in the WP directory. Such a fail, it seems! As if the only guy who purchased this paid plan did that by mistake and forgot about. It was a sad moment for our startup…

Lives of startups are full of sad moments. We call them mistakes and barely admit as fails. We’d rather say that we’ve pivoted rather admin that we were wrong and didn’t do a good job. So, with such morale it was a very cautious project to work on the new iteration of conveythis.com. But that’s to our French competitors, we were inspired to proceed!

Thus, we started to work hard again. The new website was coded from scratch. The database was setup on the new dedicated server. We’ve coded our WordPress plugin to have the minimal amount of options and submitted it to the directory for a review. It was a waiting game as Mike Epstein who was in charge of WP directory plugin review, was already angry at us. She kept accusing us of violating the policies while it wasn’t true. Our first plugin for WP was launched in 2008 when the policies were not in place. It’s just an unfortunately coincidence of events that triggered a new plugin review and merciless eye of Mike had landed on our team…

Couple of months of back and forth coding and chatting with WP editors, we were able to upload a heavily sanitized script to WP directory and our journey to SaaS success had begun! It was the February 14th, 2018, the Valentine’s Day in USA. I was happy and optimistic. It promised to be a new journey to an unknown.

ConveyThis launch on Feb 14, 2018

The plugin got accepted. We cheered and prepared to receive an overwhelming amount of downloads, user bug reports and requests. We patiently waited in front of our computers and starred at the blank screens of our 27 inch monitors… Day passed, two, nothing changed. I looked surprised. Is this the WordPress directory that I’ve known for popularity? Is this the world’s most popular CMS with 28% market share? I couldn’t comprehend the low volumes. The daily downloads were less then 10. Many people that downloaded, didn’t keep our plugin by uninstalling it. I wondered why, but we didn’t have any user feedback loop to stay in touch with people who unsubscribe… Thus, we started to innovate. To me the launch date seemed like the end of the journey, but in reality it was just the beginning.

End of part 1.

Author

Alex Buran

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *