十多年來,我們幫助公司實現財務和品牌目標。 Onum是一家以價值為導向的SEO機構。

聯繫方式
我們的旅程

3年內0到$ 100,000的ARR,自舉(發現了5個秘密)

ConveyThis。團隊

在過去的三年中,發生了很多事情……

我們從 0 到 $100, 0 Arr 與ConveyThis...

經過2週的開發,啟動了我們的副項目Gglot

並將我們的團隊擴展到3位出色的人……

在本文中,我想與您分享5個主要的學習經驗,以了解我們如何通過$ 0的資金(完全自舉)來快速擴展規模🚀

1.建立家庭,而不是醫院

當您將很多人帶到公司時,內部政治會損害產品的增長。每個新人都會帶來自己的問題,想法和生活方式。如果您沒有適當地壓制人們並使他們及時加入公司的目標和生活方式,那麼這些人可能會成為浪費,甚至使公司感到恐懼。當我們的公司銷售額增長到超過120萬美元並在紐約市辦公室帶了12名全職員工時,就是這種情況。由於未安裝系統,因此已開始出現不對齊的情況。那是一扇旋轉門。您放置一個招聘廣告,篩選一個人,將他們帶到公司,什麼都沒有發生。您將它們解僱並重複該過程。員工無法快速適應變化的同事。您感覺好像在浪費時間在政治和行為上,而不是專注於產品改進和MRR增長。

我可能會問,一個家庭的正常人數是多少?據統計,這是父母和兩個孩子。這就是我們希望保持公司發展的動力。我們帶給生活的每個“孩子”都有被忽視的風險。我們寧願只專注於我們的員工,而這種壓力和責任帶來了成功的結果。

2019 年,我們解僱了最後幾個不必要的人,並進入"家庭"模式。幫助我們建立一個ConveyThis的人已經辭職了,我們決定不尋找替代者。有這麼多的戲劇, 我個人不想再走那條路了。當COVID在2020年達到時,我們沒有一個問題。團隊中的每個人都留在了團隊中,事實上,我們的收入在那一年有所增長。又小又靈活。作為唯一的創始人,我一次只能監督少數人。不管怎樣,我選擇保持小,發展公司。我們將讓銷售和營銷人員遠程與我們合作。它在COVID時代有效。

2.打造出色的產品。

對您的產品進行大量投資可以顯著改變您的增長,而我們在ConveyThis。回到一點:當你的團隊成長時,產品的品質就會變得平庸。因此,保持產品團隊規模小,傾聽用戶反饋,並不斷構建出色的產品。大多數時候,一個強壯的工程師比10個普通工程師的工作效率更高;因此,無需擴大工作力規模。

我認為,發生這種情況的原因可能有以下幾種:

  • 創始團隊最初並不打算發展(文檔不足,技術債務,基礎設施規模不大。)。
  • 招聘過程不起作用,而初級開發人員的入職只會導致更多的錯誤和更多的問題。
  • 該公司已決定進入高端市場,並已開始構建越來越多的自定義功能,從而使得該產品的用戶友好度越來越低。

我們從不關注團隊中工程師的人數,而僅關注所僱用人員的才能。

3.專注於適應性強的長期願景

就像我之前說過的那樣,用我們僱用的人數來衡量公司的成功並不是我感興趣的事情。這就像在雞巴更長或更厚的男孩中的幼稚遊戲。沒關係這是錯誤的指標!我認為,每個Saas都應堅持的長期願景是MRR增長。它是公司中的一項重要指標,也是唯一一項重要指標。除銷售人員外,沒有其他人可以直接影響它。因此,我唯一願意帶給我們團隊的人是銷售開發代表(SDR)。任何人?聯絡我!

有時候,您構建的東西不需要或不想花錢。在我們的案例中,這是由於升級政策過於寬鬆所致。我不知道為什麼,但是我們的自尊心低使我們無法要求用戶付款。或者,也許我們吸引了這些卑鄙的下流人士,他們無法花一美元購買我們的產品,所以我們感到害怕,並認為要求客戶按月訂購我們的辛勤工作來獎勵我們是不道德的。這種錯誤的思維導致我們在兩個方面都低估了我們的產品。這給我們帶來了小型企業的提振,但是中級和企業級的客戶卻未能參加。

為了保持適應性,我們發現的最佳策略是觀察競爭對手的行為。正如馬克·扎克伯格(Mark Zuckerberg)巧妙指出的那樣,如果您不將公司出售給Facebook,他將復制您並導致您倒閉。優勝劣汰。自然選擇。對產品開發和長期願景也有相同的想法。如果傑夫·貝佐斯(Jeff Bezos)不復制粘貼競爭對手的產品和業務,那麼如果沒有AWS Cloud,亞馬遜仍將是一家大型在線書店。適應,適應,適應。

4.客戶就是一切

不是團隊。不是你媽媽是顧客沒有客戶,您就沒有生意,也沒有錢帶媽媽去吃飯。在這個意義上,我有缺陷。我一直討厭用戶,因為我與他們互動的唯一時間是……他們離開時,取消他們的帳戶,要求退款或留下負面評論。你明白了。

但這是錯誤的!這是生存偏見!它僅代表您的用戶的一小部分。即使他們給您負面的答复,那也僅僅是因為您做得不好。也許那天您的服務器出現故障,用戶收到了太多的垃圾郵件。也許,您對產品的設計不佳,免費計劃中可用的限制太小或太過限制。也許還有別的。該列表可以繼續下去!但關鍵是,您的用戶是好人。無論如何,您都需要愛他們。他們將資金委託給您的產品,即使他們正在攪動或要求退款,也可以。人們在客戶服務中就是這樣做的。而且,您需要善於愛人,才能對他們發表正面的答复。

一開始,我想變得無禮。哦,是的,我想大聲疾呼這些詛咒的用戶。我無法理解為什麼我們的這種具有很多出色功能的價格具有競爭力的產品被放棄了。我將其視為個人侮辱。我聽不懂但是後來我意識到生活中有些事情我無法控制。您無法100%控制它,並保持用戶暢遊無阻。有太多原因會導致生命消亡,這是一種非常主觀和膚淺的思維方式,如果樹木掉到森林裡就沒有聲音了。您只是永遠不知道用戶的立場,以及他們個人正在經歷的障礙。無條件地愛他們,他們會愛你的。

5.投入營銷

由於開銷非常小,我們有大量的自由現金用於市場營銷。它是增長的唯一動力,僅此而已。沒有一個SDR可以在一天中的任何時候,無論雨天還是晴天都為您帶來24/7的客戶服務。有很多漂亮的廣告方式,這將是一個單獨的主題。

但是主要渠道是:

*搜尋引擎優化和內容分發- 我喜歡這個演出。它帶來了免費的有機流量從谷歌(沒有人使用必應和雅虎了。數位可以忽略不計)。這樣做的方法是使用多種語言。任何目標高,並希望發展他們的MRR的公司,都需要將其網站轉換為多種語言。這是沒有辦法解決的。我們 80% 的流量和銷售來自美國以外的國家/地區,為了迎合這些人,我們需要將我們的網站保留為 20 多種語言。我們的WordPress外掛程式是一個偉大的工具,以説明您在這個旅程。我們是一個 SaaS,它實際上是使用我們自己的產品,當地語系化網站到西班牙文,法語,德語,日語和其他語言,而無需購買任何其他。翻譯的頁面是SEO優化與 HREFLANG標籤和谷歌很容易下載和索引他們。免費交通,不收取額外費用!

*付費廣告。再次是Google,而不是Bing,不是Yahoo。僅關注Google,您就能在線劫持95%的網絡流量。最好的部分是?付費廣告位於自然搜索結果上方的頁面頂部!無論您對有機搜索進行逆向工程的能力如何,如果您不知道自己在做什麼,就無法在付費搜索中擊敗競爭對手!而且我們也不知道。訣竅吧,在美國的廣告非常非常昂貴veryyyyyyy!那該怎麼辦?答案,走向全球!其他國家/地區的廣告價格非常便宜,並且帶來了大量轉化。您能承受錯過這個機會,等到世界其他國家像美國一樣加快競標速度嗎?

*內容營銷。這是我的最愛。即使我們是一個小家庭,我也會獨自撰寫這樣的核心文章。我什至沒有沃倫·巴菲特(Warren Buffet)這樣的助手。我也設法提出自己的想法,當然也藉鑑了您的一些東西。豐富的內容需要分發。在我嘗試僅將其發佈到我們的博客之前,但這是行不通的。然後,我們嘗試對Facebook小組和Twitter進行嘗試,但均無濟於事。那是什麼工作?黑客同行所在的論壇!很棒的列表是:HackerNews,Reddit,IndieHackers,BetaList和ProductHunt。當您發布有用的內容並讓用戶討論時,您還將獲得大量的用戶反饋和大量的引薦流量!所以,我強烈推薦這個頻道。唯一的缺點是勞動強度大。要寫這樣的文章,我需要花整整一天的時間進行研究,然後花一整個小時將其鍵入,還要花整整一個小時來格式化和修飾精美的GIF圖像和圖標。我很高興在COVID期間我的打字技能從50 wpm提高到60 wpm,我的目標是減少在網上下棋的時間,在打字課上花費更多的打字時間,並練習快速打字。顯然有效!

下一步?

這是2021年的計劃:

  • 到年底將達到$ 1,000,000 ARR
  • 在產品方面運送一些主要版本👾
  • 推出3家新的SaaS初創公司(列表正在最終確定中)
  • 給自己買一輛閃亮的新車,以此證明我一生的成功🤯
  • 為有抱負的企業家建立最佳的YouTube頻道📹

如果您覺得這篇文章有用,請隨時分享it❤️

如果您有任何疑問,可以直接通過👉[email protected]與我聯繫。

作者

亞歷克斯·布蘭

評論(1)

  1. 主題
    2021年1月8日 回复

    嗨tellaere, 立體iphone一篇關於媒體印刷的挑剔的文章, 我們都明白
    媒體是一個夢幻般的ⲟf事實。

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址不會被公開。必填字段已標記*

Our Journey

0 to $100,000 ARR in 3 years, bootstrapped (5 secrets revealed)

ConveyThis Team

In the last 3 years, a lot has happened…

We went from 0 to $100,000 ARR with ConveyThis

Launched Gglot, our side project, after 2 weeks of development….

And scaled our team to 3 amazing people… from 3 amazing people

In this article, I wanted to share with you 5 key learnings about how we managed to scale that fast with $0 in funding (fully bootstrapped) 🚀

1. Build a family, not a hospital

When you bring lots of people to the company, the internal politics hurts the product growth. Each new person brings their own problems, ideas and lifestyles. If you don’t properly suppress and onboard people to adhere to the company’s goals and lifestyle in time, these people could become a waste and even terrorize the company. This was the case when our firm grew to over $1.2M in sales and brought 12 full-timers in our New York City office. Since the systems weren’t in place, the misalignment has begun to occur. It was a revolving door. You place a job ad, screen a person, bring them to the firm and nothing good happens. You fire them and repeat the process. Employees can’t adjust to changing coworkers fast enough. You feel like you are wasting your time on politics and behavior rather than focusing on product improvement and MRR growth.

What’s the normal size of a family, I might ask? Statistically, it’s parents and two children. That’s the dynamics we’d like to keep our company at. Every “child” we bring to life has a risk to stay neglected. We’d rather focus on our people as only people and this pressure and responsibility brings up the successful outcome.

In 2019, we’ve fired last few unnecessary people and went into the “family” mode. The guy who has helped us to build ConveyThis has quit and we decided that we won’t look for a replacement. There was so much drama that I personally don’t want to go that route again. And when COVID has hit in 2020, we didn’t have a single problem. Every person on the team remained on the team, and in fact our revenues have grown that year. Small and nimble. As a sole founder, I have energy to supervise only few people at a time. I chose to stay small and grow the company regardless. We will be bringing sales and marketing people working with us remotely. It works in the COVID era.

2. Build a great product.

Investing heavily on your product can make a major difference in your growth, and that’s what we did at ConveyThis. Back to the point one: when your team grows, the product’s quality becomes mediocre. So, keep that product team small, listen to the user feedback and keep building a great product. Most of the time, one strong engineer is more productive than 10 average ones; thus, no need to scale the workforce.

In my opinion, this can happen for the following reasons:

  • The founding team did not plan to grow in the first place (poor documentation, technical debt, infrastructure not made to scale..).
  • The recruitment process doesn’t work, and the onboarding of junior developers only lead to more bugs and more issues.
  • The company has decided to go up-market and has started building more and more custom features making the product less and less user friendly.

We never focused on the number of engineers in our team, but we focused only on the talent of the people we hired.

3. Focus on adaptable long-term vision

As I said previously, measuring my company’s success by how many people we employ is not something that of interest to me. It’s like childish game among boys whose dick is longer or thicker. It doesn’t matter. It’s the wrong metrics! In my opinion, the long term vision every Saas should adhere to is the MRR growth. It is one and only one important metrics in the company. No extra people except sales people could directly affect it. So, the only people I would agree to bring to our team are the sales development representatives (SDR). Anyone? Contact me!

There are times when you build something that customers don’t need or don’t want to pay for. In our case, it was due to very lax policies about the upgrades. I don’t know why but our low self-esteem didn’t allow us to ask our users to pay. Or maybe we attracted these shitty lowlifes who can’t spare a dollar to pay for our product, so we were afraid and thought it was unethical to ask a customer to reward us with monthly subscription for our hard work. This flawed thinking has led us to underprice our product in both niches. This gave us a boost of small business companies, but medium and enterprise level clients failed to show.

The best strategy we discovered in order to stay adaptable is to look what our competitors are doing. As Mark Zuckerberg cleverly pointed out, if you don’t sell your company to Facebook, he will copy you and drive you out of business. The survival of the fittest. The natural selection. The same thinking goes to the product development and the long-term vision. If Jeff Bezos wouldn’t copy paste competitors products and businesses, Amazon would still remain a big online book store without AWS Cloud. Adapt, adapt, adapt.

4. Customer is everything

Not the team. Not your mom. It’s the customer. Without the customer, you have no business and no money to take your mom to dinner. I was flawed in that sense. I always hated my users because the only time I’ve interacted with them was… when they were leaving, cancelling their accounts, asking for refunds or leaving negative reviews. You get the idea.

But this is a wrong! This is survivorship bias! It only represents a small fraction of your users. And even though they leave you negative replies, it is only because you’ve done something bad. Perhaps, your server had a glitch that day and the user got too many spam emails. Perhaps, you’ve designed the product poorly and the limits available on the free plan are too small, or too limiting. Perhaps, something else. The list and can go on and on! But the point is, your users are good people. You need to love them regardless. They entrusted your product with their money and even though they are churning, or asking for a refund, it’s okay. It’s what people do in the customer service. And you need to get good at loving people, in order to be able to write positive replies to them.

At first, I wanted to be rude. Oh, yeah, I wanted to scream and curse these churning users. I couldn’t comprehend why our such a competitively priced product with lots of great features is being abandoned. I took it as a personal insult. I didn’t understand. But then I’ve realized that there are things in life that are beyond my control. That you can’t control it 100% and keep your users staying without any churn. There are just too many reasons that life throws at them, and it is a very subjective and superficial way of thinking that if the tree falls in the forest, there is no sound. You just never know what’s exactly on the side of a user and what kind of hurdles they are personally going through. Love them unconditionally and they will love you back.

5. Pour money into marketing

With extremely small overhead, we have an unusually large amount of free cash that we invest into marketing. It is the only fuel of growth, nothing else. Not a single SDR would bring you customer 24/7 at any time of day, rain or shine. There are so many beautiful ways to advertise that it would be a separate topic on its own.

But the main channels are:

* Search engine optimization and content distribution – I love this gig. It brings free organic traffic from Google (no one uses Bing and Yahoo any more. The numbers are negligible). And the way to do that is to go multilingual. Any company that aims high and wants to grow their MRR, needs to convert their websites into multiple languages. There is no way around that. 80% of our traffic and sales comes from countries outside of the US and in order to cater to these people, we need to keep our websites in over 20 languages. Our WordPress plugin is a great tool to help you on this journey. We are a SaaS that is actually using our own product to localize the website into Spanish, French, German, Japanese and other languages without buying anything else. The translated pages are SEO optimized with HREFLANG tags and Google easily downloads and indexes them. Free traffic at no extra expense!

* Paid ads. Again it is Google, not Bing, not Yahoo. Just focusing on Google alone, you will be able to hijack 95% of web traffic online. And the best part? The paid ads are on top of the page above the organic results! No matter how good you are at reverse engineering the organic search, you can’t beat competition in paid search if you don’t know what you are doing! And we didn’t know either. The trick it, the ads in the United States are very very verryyyyyyy expensive! What to do then? The answer, go global! The ads in other countries are super cheap and still bring lots of conversions. Can you afford to miss that opportunity and wait till the rest of the world picks up and drives up the bids like in the US?

* Content marketing. It is my favorite. And even though we are a small family, I write core articles like this one all by myself. I don’t even have an assistant just like Warren Buffet. I manage to come up with my own ideas borrowing some of your stuff of course as well. The great content needs distribution. Before I tried to publish it only on our blog, but that didn’t work. Then we tried to Facebook groups and Twitter and that didn’t work either. What’s worked then? The forums where the fellow hackers are! The great list is: HackerNews, Reddit, IndieHackers, BetaList and ProductHunt. When you publish something useful and let users discuss it, you get great user feedback and great referral traffic as well! So, I highly recommend this channel. The only drawback it is labor intensive. To write an article like this, it takes me a full day of research and then a full hour to type it out and a full hour to format and embellish with great stuff life GIF image and icons. I’m glad  my typing skills have improved from 50 wpm to 60wpm during COVID where I made a goal to spend less time playing chess online and spend more type at the typing lessons and practice fast typing. Apparently it worked!

Next steps?

Here’s the plan for 2021:

  • reach $1,000,000 ARR by the end of the year 🚀
  • ship some major releases on the product side 👾
  • launch 3 new SaaS startups (the list is currently being finalized) 💥
  • get myself a new shiny car as a testament of my life’s success 🤯
  • build the best YouTube channel for ambitious entrepreneurs 📹

If you found this article useful, feel free to share it 🙏❤️

If you have any questions, you can reach out to me directly on 👉[email protected]

Author

Alex Buran

Comment (1)

  1. theme
    January 8, 2021 Reply

    Hi tһere, іts fastidious article about media print, we all understand
    media is a fantastic source ⲟf facts.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *